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Introduction
1
 

 

Civil charges and civil penalties are authorized by the Virginia Code to penalize 

noncompliance, to serve as an incentive against future noncompliance, and support DEQ’s 

mission “to protect the environment of Virginia in order to promote the health and well-being of 

the Commonwealth's citizens.”
 2

 
 
This chapter sets out the specific procedure and criteria used by 

DEQ to calculate civil charges and civil penalties
3
 in administrative enforcement actions, 

including:  (1) orders issued by consent; (2) special orders issued after an informal fact finding 

proceeding; and (3) special orders issued after a formal hearing.
4
  This chapter does not address 

civil charges and civil penalties assessed in the “Air Check Virginia” Program, which is under 

separate guidance.  Nor does this chapter address the procedure to calculate civil penalties in 

judicial proceedings. 

 

The civil charge or civil penalty calculations in this guidance include an amount 

reflecting the gravity of the violation (the “gravity component”) and are intended to remove any 

significant economic benefit of noncompliance.  The DEQ’s goal is to ensure that 

noncompliance with environmental requirements is more costly than compliance. 

 

The Virginia Code requires the development of guidelines and procedures that contain 

specific criteria for calculating the appropriate penalty for each violation based on the following 

factors: 
5
 

  

                                                 
1
 Guidance documents set forth presumptive operating procedures.  See Va. Code § 2.2-4001.  Guidance documents 

do not establish or affect legal rights or obligations, do not establish a binding norm, and are not determinative of the 

issues addressed.  Decisions in individual cases will be made by applying the laws, regulations, and policies of the 

Commonwealth to case-specific facts.  This guidance supersedes Civil Enforcement Manual; issued December 29, 

2014. 

 
2
 Va. Code § 10.1-1183.  The section also lists eleven purposes of DEQ including:  “To promote environmental 

quality through … expeditious and comprehensive permitting, inspection, monitoring and enforcement 

programs…”; and “To ensure that there is consistency in the enforcement of the laws, regulations and policies as 

they apply to holders of permits or certificates issued by the Department, whether the owners or operators of such 

regulated facilities are public sector or private sector entities.” 

 
3
 The Virginia Code does not define civil charges or civil penalties.  Generally, civil charges are assessed with the 

consent of the responsible party; civil penalties are assessed in adversarial administrative or judicial actions. 

 
4
 In accordance with Va. Code § 10.1-1186(9) an informal fact finding proceeding held in accordance with Va. Code 

§ 2.2-4019 may result in the issuance of a special order.  “Special Order means an administrative order issued to any 

party that has a stated duration of not more than twelve months and that may include a civil penalty of not more than 

$10,000.”  See, Va. Code § 10.1-1182.  A formal hearing can require a Responsible Party to pay civil penalties of up 

to $32,500 for each violation, not to exceed $100,000 per special order.  See, VA Code § 62.1-44.15 (8a).   

 
5
 Va. Code §§ 10.1-1316(D) (Air), 10.1-1455(L) (Waste), and 62.1-44.15(8e) (Water).  See Va. Code § 10.1-

1197.9(C)(4) (Renewable Energy).  Separate statutory factors are set out for violations of Article 11 of the State 

Water Control Law.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(D). 

 

MSOP-13:%20%20Enforcement%20Procedures%20and%20Schedule%20of%20Penalties%20–%20Mobile%20Source%20Operations%20Section.
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4001/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1186/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4019/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1182/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1316/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1455/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.34:20/
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 The severity of the violations;
 6
 

 The extent of any potential or actual environmental harm; 

 The compliance history of the facility or person; 

 Any economic benefit realized from the noncompliance; and  

 The ability of the person to pay the penalty. 

 

A civil charge or civil penalty is not appropriate in every case.  The Virginia Code grants 

immunity from civil charges and civil penalties for certain voluntarily disclosed violations.
7
  

DEQ exercises its enforcement discretion to mitigate most or all of the gravity portion of a civil 

charge or civil penalty, for violations that are discovered pursuant to a Voluntary Environmental 

Assessment and that are voluntarily and promptly self-reported and corrected.
8
  Finally, the civil 

charge or civil penalty amount may be partially mitigated by a Supplemental Environmental 

Project.
9
   

 

DEQ may depart from the recommended calculations in this guidance to seek civil 

charges and civil penalties up to the maximum sums permitted by law where the interests of 

equity, deterrence, and justice require.  While uncommon, such departure is appropriate in 

significant cases of noncompliance such as but not limited to:   

 

 where the violation or its potential or actual environmental harm are especially 

egregious or severe;  

 where the violation has resulted in a declared emergency by federal, state, or local 

officials;  

 where the violation has placed another person in imminent and substantial danger of 

death, serious bodily injury, or harm;  

 where the violation is contrary to the specific terms of an administrative order or 

judicial decree;  

 where the violation or pattern of violations results in an imminent and substantial 

environmental harm; or  

 where the violation is the result of a pattern or practice that demonstrates the willful 

avoidance of regulatory requirements.   

 

In those cases where staff believes that the violation justifies seeking up to the maximum 

penalties authorized by law, staff must provide a reasoned analysis by applying the specific 

criteria described in Virginia Code and in this chapter demonstrating how the specific facts of the 

violation warrant the civil charge or civil penalty recommend. 

 

                                                 
6
 In this chapter, the use of the term “violation” prior to a case decision by DEQ means an “alleged violation.”  DEQ 

makes case decisions in accordance with the Administrative Process Act, Va. Code § 2.2-4000, et seq. (APA). 

 
7
 Va. Code §§ 10.1-1199, -1233.  See, Chapter 5. 

 
8
 Voluntary disclosure and reporting do not include mandatory monitoring, sampling, or auditing procedures 

required by laws, regulations, permits, or enforcement actions.  See, Chapter 5. 

 
9
 Va. Code § 10.1-1186.2.  See Chapter 5.http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1199/ 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1199/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1233/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1199/
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Ultimately, civil charges and civil penalties cannot exceed the statutory maximum, 

usually $32,500 per day for each violation.  Certain statutes set out other maximum civil charges 

or civil penalties, especially for portions of the Water Programs.
10

 

  

In all enforcement actions, the paramount priorities of DEQ are:  to correct 

noncompliance promptly; to assure prompt implementation of all necessary corrective actions; to 

oversee appropriate process improvements; and to otherwise ensure protection of human health 

and the environment. 

Consent Orders without Civil Charges 

Initially, staff establish whether the violation warrants a civil charge.
11

  The following 

criteria may qualify for a consent order without civil charges: 

 

 The severity of the violation is minimal.  Consent orders without civil charges are not 

typically available when the alleged violation has been designated a High Priority 

Violation or Significant Noncompliance; 

 The extent of the actual or potential harm results in little to no harm; 

 The Responsible Party has not been in chronic noncompliance and is making a good-

faith effort to comply;  

 Municipal VPDES (major or minor) upgrade or expansion or collection system 

correction delayed due to the inability to secure funding; 

 Interim limits needed pending connection to a municipal wastewater treatment system 

or a larger regional wastewater treatment system; 

 Minor VPDES permittees, such as trailer courts operating lagoons or other antiquated 

systems, which will eventually shut down or be connected to a municipal sewer 

system;  

 

The emphasis in all cases, but particularly in cases without civil charges or civil penalties, 

is on prompt and appropriate injunctive relief to return a Responsible Party to compliance with 

applicable laws, regulations, orders, and permit conditions. 

 

Consent Orders with Civil Charges 

 

Unless a violation results in a significant or substantial violation warranting a departure 

from these procedures, DEQ assesses civil charges or civil penalties using the appropriate Civil 

                                                 
10

 Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C) also establishes minimum civil charges and civil penalties for certain violations 

involving the discharge of oil.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8f) establishes maximum civil charges for sanitary sewer 

overflows (“SSOs”) in consent orders requiring SSO corrective action.  If this guidance does not specifically 

reference a statute authorizing a civil charge or civil penalty, such charge or penalty may be calculated using the five 

statutory factors.  Va. Code § 62.1-270 established a civil penalty shall not to exceed $25,000 for each violation of 

the Ground Water Management Act of 1992.         

 
11

 No civil charge can be assessed if a statute grants the party immunity from civil charges, provided all 

requirements have been met.  See, Va. Code §§ 10.1-1199, -1233.  Civil charges may be mitigated by voluntary 

reporting and correction or by a SEP.  See, Chapter 5. 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter25/section62.1-270/
10.1-1199
10.1-1199
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Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet (Worksheet) unless no civil charge is warranted.  In calculating 

the civil charge or civil penalty, staff first identifies the appropriate “Potential for Harm” 

classification and then work through the various categories on the Worksheet to calculate a 

Gravity Subtotal.  The Worksheet Total may also be adjusted for appropriate reasons, by 

providing a reasoned analysis on the Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form.  Both the 

Worksheet and the Adjustment Form are part of the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan 

(ERP).  Disclosure of the completed Worksheet and any Adjustment Form is discretionary, until 

the enforcement strategy exemption expires under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 

(FOIA).
12

 

 

Civil charges or civil penalties are generally appropriate if when one or more of the 

following criteria are met (the list is not exhaustive): 

 

 Failure to adequately respond to compliance assistance efforts; 

 Violation of a consent order or consent special order without mitigating 

circumstances; 

 Violations that are avoidable or due to negligence; 

 Violations of a fundamental part of the regulatory program; 

 Noncompliance that is continuing or likely to recur absent a civil charge to serve as a 

deterrence; 

 Knowing or willful violations;
13

 or  

 Violations resulting in harm to human health or the environment. 

Potential for Harm Classification 

 

Using best professional judgment, staff place violations into one of three “Potential for 

Harm” classifications – “Serious,” “Moderate,” or “Marginal” – that are listed near the top of the 

Worksheet.  Staff classify the violations, in part, based on:  (1) the severity of the violation, and 

(2) the extent of any potential or actual harm.  

 

 Severity of the violation:  This consideration examines whether the violation(s) or 

pattern of violations at issue are fundamental to the integrity of the regulatory 

program and DEQ’s ability to monitor and protect human health or the environment. 

 Potential or actual Harm:  Harm evaluations consider the potential harm as well as 

the actual effect the violation had on human health or the environment.
14

 

 

  

                                                 
12

 Va. Code § 2.2-3705.7(16).  The rules for Formal Hearings are different.  See, Chapter 6. 

 
13

 Evidence of a deliberate act may be grounds for referral to criminal investigative authorities. 

 
14

For example, the potential or actual harm to the environment is related to the potential to emit or discharge and/or 

the toxicity and volume of a pollutant. 

    

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-3705.7/
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Serious Classification 

 

A violation is classified as Serious if (1) the severity of the violation presents a 

substantial risk or an actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or 

may have a substantial adverse effect to human health or the environment.   

 

Moderate Classification 

 

A violation is classified moderate if (1) the severity of the violation presents some risk or 

actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or may have some 

adverse effect to human health or the environment.   

 

Marginal Classification  

 

A violation is classified as Marginal if (1) the severity of the violation presents little or no 

risk or actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or may have little 

to no adverse effect to human health or the environment.   

 

For each violation, staff should provide a reasoned analysis in the Enforcement 

Recommendation and Plan for why a potential for harm classification was selected by 

documenting how the integrity of the regulatory program was affected and/or documenting the 

actual or potential harm to the environment.   

 

Statutory Factors 

Compliance History Category
15

 

 

Staff evaluates the Responsible Party’s history of noncompliance to determine if an 

increase to a civil charge or civil penalty is warranted.  This factor is not used to reduce a civil 

charge or civil penalty when a Responsible Party has a history of compliance.  When a 

Responsible Party has previously violated an environmental standard at the same or a different 

source or facility, it is usually clear evidence that the Responsible Party was not deterred by the 

DEQ’s previous enforcement response.  In calculating the adjustment factor for compliance 

history, staff considers:
16

 

 

a. Consent orders, special orders, judicial orders, or federal consent decrees in any other 

media program that became effective after the period beginning 36 months preceding 

the initial violation that is subject of the current enforcement action (5% of the current 

gravity-based civil charge/civil penalty or $5,000, whichever is less); and 

                                                 
15

 This criterion relates to the statutory factor of compliance history. 

 
16

Because a Remedy Consent Order action is founded on noncompliance with the Remedy Consent Order itself, the 

Compliance History factor is usually limited to prior Remedy Consent Order non-compliance, but is not limited to 

36 months, since Remedy Consent Orders can be effective over many years. 
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b. Consent orders, special orders, judicial orders, or federal consent decrees in the same 

media program that became effective after the period beginning 36 months preceding 

the initial violation that is subject of the current enforcement action (0.5 factor).  If 

there has been more than one enforcement action in the past 36 months, staff consider 

whether it is appropriate to depart from the civil charge/civil penalty worksheet, as 

described in the Introduction.  

 

The evidence to establish culpability cannot be identical to that used to support an 

adjustment based on compliance history.  If the evidence is identical, an adjustment is made for 

compliance history rather than culpability.  

 

For example, take the following steps to calculate a compliance history charge: 

 

 Review the compliance history for the responsible party to determine if there have 

been any enforcement actions within the previous 36 months.   

 Determine the appropriate factor to adjust the civil charge.  Assuming that the current 

enforcement action was within the previous 36 months in the same media program, 

the compliance history factor would be 0.5 (or 50%) (x) gravity subtotal.  If there is 

an enforcement action within the previous 36 months in another media program, the 

compliance history factor would be the lesser of 0.05 (x) gravity subtotal, or $5,000.   

 

Degree of Culpability 

 

DEQ staff assesses a Responsible Party’s culpability based on the facts and 

circumstances of the case and may add a multiplying factor to the amounts for one, a subset, or 

all violations, depending on the assessment.  Enforcement Staff rate the Responsible Party’s 

culpability as low (0%), moderate (25%), serious (50%), or high (100%) based on the one or 

more of list of factors below (the ERP may document consideration of relevant factors only).  It 

is not anticipated that culpability will increase the civil charge in all cases.  A violation without 

any further evidence of culpability is usually rated as low (but is still considered a violation, 

since Responsibly Parties are strictly liable for noncompliance).  The evidence to establish 

culpability cannot be identical to that used to support an adjustment based on compliance history.  

If the evidence is identical, an adjustment is made for compliance history rather than culpability.  

In determining the degree of culpability one or more of the following should be considered: 

 

a) The degree to which the Responsible Party knew or should have known of the legal 

requirement that was violated; 

b) The degree of control the Responsible Party had over the events constituting the 

violation; 

c) The foreseeability of the events constituting the violation; 

d) Whether the Responsible Party knew or should have known of the hazards associated 

with the conduct; 

e) Whether the Responsible Party took reasonable precautions against the events 

constituting the violation; 
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f) Whether there is evidence of unjustified delay in preventing, mitigating or remedying 

the violation;  

g) Whether the Responsible Party failed to comply with a consent order, special order, 

judicial order, or federal consent decree;  

h) Whether there have been Notices of Violation (NOVs) in the same media program 

during the past 36 months preceding the initial violation that is subject of the current 

enforcement action.  However, staff do not consider NOVs that were withdrawn or 

not pursued because of insufficient evidence or strategic considerations; 

i) Commonality of ownership, management, and personnel with other RPs or facilities 

that have been subject of enforcement actions; and  

j) The level of sophistication within the industry in dealing with compliance issues or 

the accessibility of appropriate control technology.  This should be balanced against 

the technology forcing nature of the statute, where applicable. 

 

Lack of knowledge of a legal requirement is not used as a basis to reduce a civil charge or 

civil penalty.  To do so would encourage ignorance of the legal requirement.   

Economic Benefit  

 

This economic benefit is included in a civil charge or civil penalty to ensure the 

enforcement action serves as a deterrent to future noncompliance and removes any illegal 

competitive advantage.
17

  A civil charge or civil penalty should remove any (i.e., greater than de 

minimis) economic benefit of noncompliance in addition to the gravity component.
18

  An 

economic benefit is gained when the Responsible Party avoids or delays costs required to comply 

with a legal requirement or any profits generated from an illegal competitive advantage and is 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis.  Staff should use best professional judgment when making the 

preliminary determination that an economic benefit exists.  When there is evidence of an 

economic benefit based on delayed or avoided costs, or profits from an illegal competitive 

advantage, staff should estimate the value of the economic benefit and include this amount in the 

proposed civil charge.
19

  

 

                                                 
17

 Illegal competitive advantage occurs when the party’s noncompliant actions allow it to attain a level of revenues 

that would not have been obtainable otherwise, e.g., selling a product using water resources in excess of permitted 

amounts, or draining/filling and selling wetlands without appropriate permits. 

 
18

 An economic benefit may be considered de minimis if the amount would be considered trivial to the overall civil 

charge or civil penalty and the collection of which would not be a significant deterrence of future noncompliance. 

   
19

 Estimation of economic benefit in the case of failure to comply with Total Nitrogen or Total Phosphorus loading 

limitations of the General Permit for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Watershed is not necessary.  Nor is it necessary to use EPA’s BEN model to calculate economic benefit 

for this class of violations.  Economic benefit should be calculated using the cost of purchasing the necessary 

amount of end-of –year (Class B) nutrient credits from the Nutrient Credit Exchange Association and/or (if 

sufficient credits would not have been available through the Exchange), compliance credits from the Water Quality 

Improvement Fund for the calendar year in which the violation(s) occurred.  Central office DE staff should be 

contacted for assistance in determining the per-unit cost of the appropriate credits for relevant calendar year. 
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If the economic benefit is estimated to exceed $10,000, penalty and financial models 

produced by the U.S. EPA should be used to calculate the economic benefit.
20

  The U.S. EPA’s 

models compute the economic benefits of noncompliance with legal requirements and are a 

method for calculating economic benefit from delayed and avoided expenditures.  The models 

use several data variables, most of which contain default values.  The required variables include 

information about capital and non-capital costs, annual operation and maintenance costs, and the 

dates for the period of noncompliance.  A Responsible Party may provide actual financial data 

that could affect the civil charge calculation.  When the Responsible Party will not or cannot 

provide financial data in a timely manner, staff may make estimates based on available 

resources, including their best professional judgment.
21

  Finally, penalty and financial models 

other than those used by the U.S. EPA may be used to calculate economic benefit of 

noncompliance, where staff concludes that an alternative method provides more meaningful 

results. 

 

 A necessary first step when making a preliminary determination of an economic benefit 

is understanding the costs delayed or avoided through noncompliance.  Delayed costs can 

include capital investments in pollution control equipment, remediation of environmental 

damages (e.g., removing unpermitted fill material and restoring wetlands), or one-time 

expenditures required to comply with environmental regulations (e.g., establishing a reporting 

system, or purchasing land on which to site a wastewater treatment facility). Avoided costs 

typically include operation and maintenance costs and/or other annually recurring costs (e.g., off-

site disposal of fluids from injection wells), but can occasionally include capital investments or 

one-time expenditures.   

 

 Examples of avoided costs include, but are not limited to: 

 

 Sampling and analytical costs for groundwater and gas monitoring;  

 Disposing of hazardous or universal wastes at a sanitary landfill as opposed to at a 

permitted disposal facility. The avoided cost would be the difference in the cost of 

disposal at the landfill compared to disposal at a permitted hazardous waste disposal 

facility; 

 Disconnecting or failing to properly operate and maintain existing pollution control 

equipment; failure to employ a sufficient number of staff; failure to adequately train 

staff; failure to establish or follow precautionary methods required by regulations or 

permits; removal of pollution equipment resulting in process, operational, or 

                                                 
20

U.S. EPA.  Penalty and Financial Models.  Five models currently are available: BEN (calculates a violator's 

economic benefit of noncompliance from delaying or avoiding pollution control expenditures), ABEL (evaluates a 

corporation's or partnership's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties, INDIPAY 

(Evaluates an individual's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties), MUNIPAY (evaluates 

a municipality's or regional utility's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties), PROJECT 

(Calculates the real cost to a Responsible Party of a proposed supplemental environmental project). 

      
21

 Staff may use the following in exercising their judgment:  For delayed compliance, 6% per year of the delayed 

one-time capital costs for the period from the date the violation began until the date compliance was or is expected 

to be achieved; for avoided costs, the expenses avoided until the date compliance is achieved, plus 6% per year.  See 

Va. Code § 6.2-301. 

 

https://www.epa.gov/enforcement/penalty-and-financial-models
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/6.2-301/
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maintenance savings; disconnecting or failing to properly operate and maintain 

required monitoring equipment; and operation and maintenance of equipment that the 

party failed to install; 

 Monitoring and reporting (including costs of the sampling and proper laboratory 

analysis);  

 Permit fees, permit maintenance fees, or annual emissions fees; and 

 Operation and maintenance expenses (e.g., labor, power, chemicals) and other annual 

expenses. 

 

Examples of delayed costs include, but are not limited to:
22

 

 

 Capital equipment improvement or repairs (including engineering design, purchase, 

installation, and replacement);  

 One-time acquisitions (such as equipment or real estate purchases); 

 Failure to install equipment needed to meet emission control standards;  

 Failure to effect process changes needed to reduce pollution; failure to test where the 

test still must be performed; and failure to install required monitoring equipment; 

 Capital equipment improvement or repairs (including engineering design, purchase, 

installation, and replacement);  

 Costs associated with providing required compensatory mitigation for surface 

water/wetland impacts (such as creation/restoration of wetlands, purchase or 

mitigation bank credits, etc.); and 

 Costs associated with buying nutrient credits to comply with the discharge loading 

requirements of the General Permit for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 

Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake Watershed in Virginia, 9 VAC 

25-820-10, et seq. 

 Failure to remove hazardous waste 90 days after generation if the waste is ultimately 

disposed of. 

 Failure to conduct a geophysical investigation. 

 

One distinction for the Virginia Water Protection Permit (VWPP) program lies in the 

calculation of economic benefit of noncompliance.  While the BEN model may be used as 

appropriate, the BEN model often fails to capture adequately the illegal competitive advantage 

that may arise from wetlands and other surface water violations.  It may be necessary to use other 

standard accounting practices to determine the level of revenues that would have been 

unattainable had the Responsible Party abided by the law.  For example, if a Responsible Party 

                                                 
22

In VPDES cases, especially municipal VPDES cases, it can be difficult to determine a clear “start date” for 

calculating the delayed costs of noncompliance.  It is not unusual for Responsible Parties to need significant time to 

evaluate biological processes and/or infrastructure needs before settlement terms can be finalized.  Issues like 

government appropriations, land availability, public participation and other facts not wholly within the control of a 

permittee can reasonably delay compliance.  Finally, it is not unusual that savings that might have been realized 

from delayed costs are overtaken and surpassed by the increased construction costs resulting from delayed 

construction.  Therefore, the calculation of the delayed costs of noncompliance should be commenced at such time 

as a VPDES Responsible Party fails or ceases to make a timely, diligent, and good faith effort to comply, while 

doing all it can to assure high quality treatment. 
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improperly filled wetlands and sold the property as sites for homes, the profit from the sale may 

be addressed as an element of the economic benefit of noncompliance.  Such profits are not 

accounted for under the BEN model calculations.  Here as elsewhere, the economic benefit 

should also include any costs avoided in failing to obtain a permit (e.g., consultant fees, delayed 

mitigation costs, and E&S controls), permit fees and tax or revenue benefits. 

 

There are three general areas where settling the total civil charge amount for less than the 

economic benefit may be appropriate.  The three exceptions are: 

 

1. There are compelling public concerns that would not be served by taking a case to 

trial; 

2. It is unlikely, based on the facts of the particular case as a whole, that DEQ will be 

able to recover the economic benefit in litigation; and 

3. The Responsible Party has successfully documented an inability to pay the total 

proposed civil charge. 

 

Ability to Pay 

 

Ability to pay is one of the five statutory factors.  In general, DEQ will reduce civil 

charge or civil penalty assessments that are demonstrated to beyond the means of the 

Responsible Party.  At the same time, it is important that the regulated community not perceive 

the violation of environmental requirements as cost savings for financially-troubled businesses, 

and DEQ will, in appropriate circumstances, continue to seek civil charges or civil penalties 

where a business has failed to allocate environmental compliance costs in their business 

operations.  It is also unlikely that DEQ would reduce a civil charge or civil penalty where a 

Responsible Party refuses to correct a serious potential for harm, or where a party has a history 

of noncompliance, or where the violations are particularly egregious.  A Responsible Party must 

claim and provide sufficient documentation of an inability to pay before a consent order or 

consent special order has been executed.  Enforcement staff will not reduce or abate a civil 

charge or civil penalty after a case decision has been issued based on a claim of an inability to 

pay.  The DEQ’s Office of Financial Management may negotiate delinquent accounts in 

accordance with the Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures (CAPP) Manual. 

 

The burden to demonstrate an inability to pay rests on the Responsible Party.  In order to 

be evaluating a Responsible Party’s ability to pay a civil charge or civil penalty, the Responsible 

Party must provide information sufficient enough so that the Office of Financial Responsibility 

can calculate a potential ability to pay by using the U.S. EPA computer models ABEL, 

INDIPAY, or MUNIPAY.  Failure of the Responsible Party to provide sufficient information to 

run the ability to pay models will result in a determination that the Responsible Party has the 

ability to pay the civil charge or civil penalty.    

 

If the Office of Financial Responsibility determines that a Responsible Party is unable to 

pay the civil charge or civil penalty, or would be prevented from carrying out essential corrective 

action measures by doing so, DEQ should consider the following options:  

 

http://www.doa.virginia.gov/Admin_Services/CAPP/CAPP_Main.cfm
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 Installment payment plan (at least quarterly payments for up to three years); 

 Delayed payment schedule; and  

 Reduction, up to the full amount of the civil charge, excluding economic benefit 

and/or the illegal competitive advantage, based on ability to pay modeling. 

 

Regardless of DEQ’s determination of an appropriate civil charge or civil penalty to 

pursue based on ability to pay considerations, the Responsible Party is expected to comply with 

the applicable law, regulations, orders, permit conditions, and any corrective action. 

 

Adjustments in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan 

Civil Charge Reductions up to 30% 

 

DEQ may adjust the gravity component of a civil charge – excluding the economic 

benefit calculation – downward by up to 30% based on several factors where there are clearly 

documented, case-specific facts that support the adjustment as provided in this section.
23

  This 

adjustment is not appropriate in all cases.  Enforcement staff should provide a rational basis for 

reducing a civil charge on the Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form.   

 

 Cooperativeness/Quick Settlement:  DEQ may adjust a civil charge where a 

Responsible Party is cooperative in resolving the case in a timely and appropriate 

manner and makes a good faith effort to settle the violations quickly. 

 Promptness of Injunctive Response/Good Faith Effort to Comply:  Good faith 

efforts to comply with regulatory requirements or permit conditions include prompt 

reporting of noncompliance, prompt initiation of corrective action, prompt correction 

of environmental problems, and cooperation during the investigation.  Responsible 

Parties who agree to expedited corrective action schedules may also qualify.  

Enforcement staff should consider institutional or legal limitations on corrective 

actions.  For example, a municipality may be unable to institute corrective action 

immediately because of a budget approval process or administrative procedures. 

 Size and Sophistication of the Violator: When considering the size and 

sophistication of the Responsible Party, enforcement staff may presume, in the 

absence of information to the contrary, that entities such as small non-profit 

organizations and small municipalities do not possess the same level of sophistication 

as other regulated entities.  The sophistication of the Responsible Party is also 

relevant in the case of a small business.   

 

To provide a disincentive for any unreasonable delay, the civil charge reduction available 

to the Responsible Party should be reduced by 5% per month beginning 30 days after the draft 

consent order has been issued to the Responsible Party. 

                                                 
23

 Va. Code § 10.1-1316(B) requires courts, in assessing judicial civil penalties, to consider “in addition to such 

other factors as [they] may deem appropriate, the size of the owner's business, the severity of the economic impact 

of the penalty on the business, and the seriousness of the violation.”  Although not directly applicable to 

administrative actions, these considerations may be used to determine whether a downward adjustment is 

appropriate in the ERP, and if so, the amount of the adjustment. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1316/
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Days after issuing the draft consent Order Percentage of reduction that may be available 

0 to 30 days 30% 

31 to 60 days 25% 

61 to 90 days 20% 

91 to 120 days 15% 

121  to 150 days 10% 

151 to 180 days 5% 

More than 180 0% 

 

Civil Charge Reductions more than 30% 

 

The gravity component may be reduced by more than 30% if appropriate circumstances 

exist.  Enforcement staff must provide a rational basis and obtain concurrence from the Director 

of Enforcement when considering a reduction greater than 30%.  The Director of Enforcement 

will evaluate the reduction for appropriateness and consistency.  Circumstances that warrant a 

reduction of more than 30% (excluding economic benefit) are as follows:     

 

 Problems of Proof:  Challenges with proving the elements of a violation may be due 

to inadequate information, conflicting evidence, or contributory activity by DEQ.  In 

many cases, problems of proof are considered as part of the Litigation Potential, but 

may also be considered independently. 

 Actual or potential harm (or Lack Thereof) to Human Health or the 
Environment:  The actual or potential harm to human health or environment should 

be considered in conjunction with other strategic considerations.    A thorough and 

reasoned analysis should be provided for reducing a gravity component of the civil 

charge beyond 30% when considering the potential for harm.  The evaluation should 

include a broad assessment of the potential or actual harm to human health or the 

environment in all media regardless of whether or not there is a legal requirement. 

 The Precedential Value of the Case:  Resolution of certain cases may establish a 

valued endorsement of an agency program or regulatory or enforcement initiative.  A 

reduction to the proposed civil charge or civil penalty may be appropriate to obtain 

such a precedent. 

 Probability of Meaningful Recovery of a Civil Charge:  In certain cases, 

information available to DEQ indicates that recovery of a meaningful civil charge is 

not possible, e.g. an inability to pay.   

 Litigation Potential.  Through negotiations it may become apparent that the case is 

destined for litigation based solely on factors not relevant to environmental 

protection.  

 

It may also be appropriate to increase a civil charge or civil penalty for continuing or 

uncorrected violations, previously undiscovered violations, or for economic benefits from 

continuing delays in achieving compliance and to provide additional incentives to resolve the 

action expeditiously.  Enforcement Staff should provide a rational basis in the ERP Addendum 

or Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form to support such an increase.   
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Air Program 

 

State Air Pollution Control Law (Air Law) at Va. Code § 10.1-1316(C)  provides for 

negotiated civil charges in consent orders for violations of the Air Law, regulations, orders, or 

permit conditions.  A civil penalty can not to exceed $32,500 for each violation.  Each day of 

violation constitutes a separate offense.  

 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

Potential for harm classifications are not used to determine whether a violation warrants 

formal enforcement.  Departures from the examples should be discussed with a Central Office 

enforcement manager and documented in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan.       

 

Serious Classification 

 

Examples include, but are not limited to:  

 

 Emissions violations at a major source involving a pollutant for which that source is 

“major” (applies to Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD), Maximum 

Available Control Technology (MACT), and Title V); 

 Violations which cause a documented potential for exceedance of a National Ambient 

Air Quality Standard (NAAQS); 

 Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment, for a 

regulated pollutant for which the source is major, in a manner consistent with good 

air pollution control practices.  Also applicable to synthetic minor sources where 

there is evidence that the failure may have caused emissions to exceed the applicable 

SM threshold; 

 Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor, or maintain records necessary to 

demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is 

major; 

 For an synthetic minor source, failure to comply with standards critical to 

maintenance of that minor status or failure to maintain records sufficient to document 

continued minor status (applies to PSD, MACT, and Title V); 

 Failure to obtain a permit prior to construction, modification, or operation of a 

synthetic minor or state major source or a major modification.   

 Failure to obtain a permit prior to construction, reconstruction, or modification that 

triggers the requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-1605, et seq. or 9 VAC 5-80-2000, et seq.; 

 Violation of a National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) 

or MACT standards that indicate excess emissions or substantially interfere with 

DEQ’s ability to determine emissions compliance; 

 Violation of a substantive requirement in a consent order, consent special order, or 

judicial decree (typically not for late reports or minor record keeping deficiencies); 

and 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1316/
https://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-2000
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 Failure to submit a timely Title V permit application (more than 60 days late), or to 

timely submit a compliance certification, Excess Emissions Report, or other 

substantive report required by a Title V permit (more than 60 days late). 

 

Moderate Classification 

 

Examples include, but are not limited to:  

 

 Emissions violations at a SM source that does not jeopardize the synthetic minor 

status of the source; 

 Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment, for a 

pollutant, at a SM point source, in a manner consistent with good air pollution control 

practices (unless there is evidence that the failure resulted in emissions that jeopardize 

the synthetic minor status of the source); 

 Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor, or maintain records necessary to 

demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is a 

synthetic minor (unless there is additional evidence to indicate that the source is not 

in compliance with the limits that establish synthetic minor status for that pollutant); 

and 

 Opacity violations at a source that is subject to the PSD, MACT, or Title V Programs. 

 

Marginal Classification  

 

Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 

 Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment for a pollutant 

at a true minor source, in a manner consistent with good air pollution control 

practices, unless there is evidence that the failure resulted in emissions of a pollutant 

at a major source level; 

 Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor or maintain records necessary to 

demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is a 

true minor source; 

 Most record keeping and reporting violations including non-substantive violations at 

major, synthetic minor, and New Source Performance Standard (NSPS) sources (see 

Serious and Moderate categories for additional information on when violations at 

major or synthetic minor sources are not Marginal); and 

 Opacity violations at a source that has been classified as either a true minor or a 

synthetic minor. 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

The categories are the numbered items (Categories 1 through 11) that make up the rows 

of the Worksheet.   

 

When using the Worksheet to address multiple violations discovered during the same 

compliance activity, staff calculates civil charges for each violation independently, with the 
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exception of Category 7, and then combine them to provide the total proposed civil charge.  

Applicable portions of the Worksheet may be copied to accommodate multiple violations.  Staff 

uses this procedure to determine the appropriate civil charge for each category listed and enter it 

on the Worksheet. 

 

Statutory, Regulatory, or Permit Violation Category 

 

This category is general in nature and is intended to establish a minimum civil charge for 

all violations of statutory, regulatory, or permit requirements.  This charge is in addition to any 

which may apply under the other categories of the Worksheet for the same violation with the 

exception of Category 2.  If the source is being assessed for violation of a substantive PSD, 

NESHAP, MACT, NSPS, or Title V requirement, the applicable charges in Category 1 are 

doubled. 

 

 Failure to obtain required permit:  This civil charge applies to 

construction/modification/reconstruction without a new source permit and to the 

failure to obtain an operating permit. 

 Operating without a permit:
 
 This civil charge applies to 

construction/modification/reconstruction without a new source permit where the 

source has begun operation of the source affected by the permit applicability 

determination.  This civil charge is assessed in addition to Subcategory 1.a. 

 Statute/regulation/permit violated (other than a. or b., above): This civil charge 

applies to violations of permit conditions and requirements of the Air Law or 

Regulations that are not already addressed by Subcategories 1.a or 1.b or Category 3 

for the same violation. 

 

Order Violation Category 

 

In Category 2, DEQ assesses civil charges for consent or other order violations.  This 

charge is in addition to any civil charges calculated in the Worksheet except for Category 1. 

 

Pollution Control Equipment Violation Category 

 

In Category 3, DEQ assesses civil charges for the failure to install or properly operate and 

maintain air pollution control equipment.  Category 3 civil charges are not limited to traditional 

end-of-the-pipe equipment.  Category 3 also applies to monitoring equipment and to production 

equipment where that equipment has been identified as Best Available Control Technology 

(BACT) or Reasonable Available Control Technology (RACT) or Lowest Achievable Emission 

Rate (LAER), or as a pollution control device or method in a permit or regulatory program. 

 

Failure to install required equipment:  This civil charge applies, but is not limited, to: 

 

 Failure to install air pollution control equipment specifically required by permit, 

order, or regulation, or removal of such equipment; 

 Failure to install equipment necessary to meet BACT, RACT, LAER, Best 

Achievable Retrofit Technology (BART), or similar mandatory control technology 
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requirements (in situations of construction/ modification/reconstruction without a 

permit) as may be determined through the permit review process; or 

 Failure to install pollution control equipment capable of meeting emissions limits 

established by permit, order, or regulations where installation of control equipment is 

required by a permit, regulation, consent or administrative order, consent decree, or 

court order. 

 

Failure to properly operate and maintain equipment:  This civil charge applies where the 

source does not operate the equipment properly or is not operating or maintaining the equipment 

adequately.  Staff should carefully consider the appropriateness of assessing a Category 3 charge 

if a charge is also being assessed under Category 4 of the Worksheet.  A situation could exist 

where the pollution controls are maintained and operated properly but, nonetheless, an emission 

violation still occurs.  In that situation, it is not appropriate to assess a civil charge for improperly 

operated pollution control equipment (Category 3).  If emissions violation occurred even though 

pollution controls were maintained and operated properly, select a charge for the emissions 

violation under Category 4 instead. 

 

Emissions, Reporting/Monitoring, and Toxics Violations Category  

 

 Emissions violations:  In Category 4, DEQ assesses a charge for documented 

violations of emissions standards in addition to charges applied in Subcategory 1.c, 2, 

or 3.  A Category 4 emissions charge applies to the percent over a standard 

established by state or federal statutes, regulations, permits, or orders (including 

opacity, throughput and production limits).  If a charge is assessed in Category 4, then 

a charge is also assessed in Category 5. 

 To calculate the appropriate charge for an emissions violation, staff enter the 

emissions limit or standard and the observed value in the Data column of the 

Worksheet.  Then staff calculate the “% over limit” and insert the percentage in the 

Data column.
24

  Staff select the charge from the appropriate Potential for Harm 

column and transfer to the Amount column of the Worksheet. 

 For example, assume a source has a permitted limit of 422 tons per year for volatile 

organic compounds (VOCs), calculated as the sum of a consecutive 12-month period.  

Records demonstrate that the facility had actual emissions of 519 tons of VOCs for a 

12-month rolling period.  Assume the violation is classified as “Serious.”  The charge 

for the emissions violation is calculated as follows: 

 Subtract the permitted limit of 422 tons from the observed VOC emissions of 519 

tons.  Divide the difference by the permit limit of 422 and multiply by 100 to obtain 

the “% over limit,” in this case, 23%.  ((519-422)/422) x 100 = 23% 

 Use the appropriate multiplier for the Potential for Harm.  The civil charge for a 

Serious violation can be calculated by multiplying the percent over by $100.  23% x 

$100 = $2,300  

 In this example, the Amount entered in Category 4.a. of the Worksheet would be 

$2,300. 

                                                 
24

 Opacity violations are calculated by the highest documented non-exempt "six-minute period" of the “one hour” 

(e.g., VEE) or a “one-hour period” (e.g., COMS), as may be applicable and as defined in 9 VAC 5-10-20.  

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-10-20
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As another example, assume a minor source has a permitted limit of 50 tons per year for 

VOCs, calculated as the sum of a consecutive 12-month period.  Records demonstrate that the 

facility had actual emissions of 75 tons of VOCs for a 12-month rolling period.  Assume the 

violation is classified as “Marginal.”  The charge for the emissions violation is calculated as 

follows:   

 

 Subtract the permitted limit of 50 tons from the observed VOC emissions of 75 tons.  

Divide the difference by the permitted limit of 50 and multiply by 100 to obtain the 

“% over limit,” in this case, 50%.  ((75-50)/50) x 100 = 50% 

 Use the appropriate multiplier for the Potential for Harm.  The civil charge for a 

Marginal violation can be calculated by multiplying the percent over by $25.  50 x 

$25 = $1,250. 

 In this example, the Amount entered in Category 4.a. of the Worksheet is $1,250. 

 

Reporting/monitoring violations:  Situations assessed under this category include other 

types of compliance assurance reporting/monitoring.  Violations include, but are not limited to: 

 

 Late submittal of reports:  Add $650 to the base amount on Worksheet.  The civil 

charge under this category is calculated on an emissions unit basis, e.g., if the source 

must submit a quarterly report for three emissions units and two were late, the civil 

charge would be $1,300.  This civil charge is assessed commencing with the second 

consecutive late submittal of a required periodic compliance assurance report (e.g., 

Excess Emissions Report, Monitoring System Performance Report, Data Assessment 

Report, Fuel Certification Report, Emissions Report, etc.).  Reporting requirements 

include those found in the applicable statute, regulation, order, and/or permit. 

 Failure to perform required audits:  Add $1,950 to base amount in Worksheet.  The 

civil charge under this category is calculated on a per monitoring system basis, e.g., if 

the source must conduct a quarterly audit on three individual monitoring systems 

(excluding redundant back-up systems) and two were late, the civil charge would be 

$3,900. 

 Excessive monitoring downtime:  Add $2,600 to base amount on the Worksheet for 

each monitoring system for each monitoring period that does not meet the required 

monitor availability.   

 

Toxic pollutant violations:  This civil charge is assessed for emissions and monitoring 

violations involving a toxic pollutant.  A toxic air pollutant is defined in the 9 VAC 5-60-210 as 

“any air pollutant listed in § 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as revised by 40 CFR 63.60, or 

any other air pollutant that the board determines, through adoption of regulation, to present a 

significant risk to public health.  This term excludes asbestos, fine mineral fibers, radio nuclides, 

and any glycol ether that does not have a [threshold limit value (TLV)].”  Where a violation 

involves exceedance of a permit limit for a toxic pollutant, a charge should be assessed for both 

the emission violation and the toxic pollutant. 

 

  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency5/chapter60/section210/
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2013-title40-vol10/CFR-2013-title40-vol10-sec63-60
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Sensitivity of the Environment Category 

 

Category 5 focuses on the geographic location of the violation.  Civil charges associated 

with this category are dependent on the nonattainment/ attainment status or the PSD area 

classification and the classification of the violation.  The sensitivity of the environment charge 

applies only to emission standards violations or to work practice or technology standards that 

serve as emission standards, or to violations of monitoring requirements.  When a violation 

occurs in a nonattainment area, the nonattainment charge applies only for violations involving 

pollutants or pollutant precursors for which the area is designated nonattainment.  The 

regulations contain a description of the nonattainment areas and the Class I PSD areas, and the 

remainder of the Commonwealth is currently classified as a Class II area.
 25

 

 

Length of Time Factor Category 

 

  The longer a violation continues uncorrected, the greater the potential for harm to air 

quality and the more severe the violation.  The Worksheet addresses this consideration in the 

category labeled “Length of Time Factor.”  Where separate charges are not assessed for daily, 

documented violations, DEQ calculates the charge for this factor as follows:  (a) multiply the 

number of days the violation occurred by 0.274 (i.e., 1/365) - this is the Percent (%) Increase 

Factor; (b) divide this factor by 100 to obtain the decimal expression, which is then multiplied by 

the Preliminary Subtotal to obtain the additional civil charge. 

 

  The time span (expressed in days) used to calculate the charge begins, based on available 

evidence, on the day the violation began.  The time span ends on the date the source corrects the 

deficiency addressed by the civil charge or the date the source agrees in principle to a set of 

corrective actions designed to achieve compliance with the regulatory requirement for which the 

charge was assessed.  For violations where the length of time exceeds five years, as determined 

by this section, DEQ calculates the charge based on a length of time of five years (1,826 days).  

This limitation on length of time is not applicable to calculation of economic benefit.  

 

 For construction without a permit, the time span begins with the start of construction 

and ends when the source either begins operation of the equipment or the source 

submits a complete permit application for the affected process or equipment or agrees 

in principle to a set of corrective actions. 

 For operation without a permit, the time span begins with the start-up of the 

equipment and ends when the source submits a complete permit application for the 

affected process or equipment. 

 For stack tests that occur prior to execution of an Order, the time span begins with the 

date the test was required (or date of the failed stack test) and ends when the test is 

completed and demonstrates compliance (must have a stack test report that indicates a 

return to compliance). 

 

  

  

                                                 
25

 9 VAC 5-20-204 (nonattainment) and 9 VAC 5-20-205 (PSD). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-20-204
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-20-205
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The following is an example of how to calculate a “length of time” civil charge: 

 

 Calculate the length of time in days that the noncompliance existed.  For example, 

200 days elapsed between the beginning day of the noncompliance and the date the 

source agreed in principle to a set of corrective actions necessary to return to a state 

of compliance. 

 Multiply the number of days by 0.274.  Take 200 and multiply it by 0.274 to get 54.8, 

which is rounded up to the nearest whole number to get 55%, or a factor of 0.55. 

 Multiply the Preliminary Subtotal calculated on the Worksheet by the Length of Time 

Factor.  Assume for this example that the Preliminary Subtotal is $1,300.  $1,300 

times 0.55 yields $715. 

 Enter the calculated charge into the “Amount” column for Category 6 on the 

Worksheet. 
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Air Civil Charge/Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 10.1-1316, -1309 

Source/Responsible Party Reg.#  NOV Date  

Data  

Potential for Harm 

 

Amount  Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Statutory/Regulatory/Permit Violation  
  a. Failure to obtain required permit. Y N  $           7,800  $           2,600   $       1,300              

  b. Operating without a permit Y N  $           5,200  $           2,600  $       1,300              

  c. Statute/regulation/permit violated (other than a or b above)  Y N  $           2,600   $           1,300  $          650               

   (Multiply by 2 for violation of a substantive PSD, NESHAP, 

MACT, NSPS or TV requirement) 
Y N               

2. Order Violation    

  a. Consent or Other Order condition violated. Y N  $            5,200  $           2,600  $       1,300             

3. Pollution Control Equipment Violation   

  a. Failure to install required equipment.  Y N  $          13,000  $           7,800  $       2,600              

  b. Failure to properly operate or maintain equipment. Y N  $          13,000  $           7,800   $       2,600              

4. Emissions, Monitoring, and Toxics Violations    

  a. Violation of Emission Limit or Standard   (% over limit or 

standard) 
 $100 (x) % over  $50 (x) % over $25 (x) % over              

       - Limit or Standard  
 

 

       - Observed Value   

  b. Reporting/Monitoring Violation    

       (1) Late submittal of reports (per emissions unit) Y N $780   

       (2) Failure to perform required audits (per monitoring system) Y N $2,330   

       (3) Excessive monitoring downtime (per monitoring system) Y N $2,600 per monitoring system   

  c. Toxic Pollutant Violations Y N  $            2,600  $            1,300  $          800  

5. Sensitivity of the Environment  

  a. Nonattainment Area Y N  $            5,200  $            2,600  $       1,300             

  b. Class I PSD area Y N  $            2,600  $            1,300  $          800               

  c. Class II and III PSD area Y N  $            1,300  $               500  $          300               

 Preliminary Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Subtotal                 

 Data Factor    

6. Length of Time Factor (enter days)  %               

7. Compliance History                    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Preliminary 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 

before initial NOV 
Y N 

0.5 (x) Preliminary Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 

mo.) 
 

9. Degree of Culpability  (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the 
Preliminary Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = (x) 

0.25 
Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

10. Economic Benefit                

11. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the source/party)    (                      ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)  $             

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/10.1-1316/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter13/section10.1-1309/
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Animal Feeding Operations and Poultry Waste 

 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1, provides specific statutory authority for the Department’s 

General VPA Permit for Animal Feeding Operations (AFO) and outlines certain design and 

operational criteria for AFO owners and operators.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:l(J) states that 

persons violating the provisions of § 62.1-44.17:1 may not be assessed civil charges that exceed 

$2,500 for any AFO covered by the permit..  Using the AFO Civil Charge/Civil Penalty 

Worksheet, staff assess appropriate civil charges on a per settlement action basis. 

 
In calculating the appropriate civil charge, staff assesses the gravity-based component of 

the charge by selecting the appropriate violation category and multiplying the individual charge 

noted by the number of occurrences of the violation.  After calculating a civil charge for each 

violation category, staff adds the civil charges to arrive at a subtotal.  The noncompliance period 

considered should generally be limited to six months.  Aggravating factors, including threats to 

human health and safety and environmental damage caused by the violation are then considered.  

If an aggravating factor is present, staff multiplies the civil charge subtotal by the aggravating 

factor multiplier of 1.5 and adds it to the Subtotal to arrive at the civil charge.  

 

Adjustments may be made in the ERP, as they are for general Water Programs charges.  

The justification for applying an adjustment should be reasonable and documented. 

 

The Total Civil Charge minus adjustments results in the Final Recommended Civil 

Charge in the ERP.  In no event may the Final Recommended Civil Charge for AFO general 

permit violations exceed $2,500.  However, it is clear from the language of the statute, which 

focuses on AFO design and normal operating conditions, and from the legislative history of that 

section of the State Water Control Law, that the General Assembly did not intend to limit penalty 

liability for onsite violations not addressed under § 62.1-44.17:1 (e.g., violations of § 62.1-44.5 

which prohibits unpermitted discharges to state waters).  Those violations should be assessed 

separately using the appropriate Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet. 

 

Like the penalty limitations for permitted AFO facilities, § 62.1-44.17:1.1(F) limits civil 

charges for violations at operations covered by the VPA General Poultry Waste Management 

Permit to $2,500.  A Poultry Waste Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet for such violations 

follows. 

 

Both the AFO and the Poultry Waste Worksheets may apply to operations where both 

activities take place.  Adjustments may be made in the ERP, as they are for general Water 

Programs charges.  The justification for applying an adjustment should be reasonable and 

documented in the ERP.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.17:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
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Animal Feeding Operation Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1(J) 

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

 Potential For Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Data Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Violations and Frequency (per occurrence per 

inspection unless otherwise noted) (Severity and 

Environmental Harm) 
 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 
  

  (a) Failure to monitor soils, waste or groundwater Y N   1000 (x) ___    500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (b) Failure to maintain records Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (c) Improper documentation of liner, seasonal high 

water table, siting, design and construction 
Y N      500 (x) ___      300 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (d) Improper operation and maintenance of waste 

storage facility (per incident) 
Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (e) Improper operation and maintenance of equipment 

(per incident) (including but not limited to checking 

for leaks, calibrations, having manufacturer’s 

manuals on site) 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (f) NMP Violations (per incident) Y N   1000 (x) __      500 (x)___    200 (x) ___  

  (g) Evidence of breached buffers or runoff (per incident) Y N   1000 (x) __      500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (h) Operator training requirements not met Y N      500 (x) __     500 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (i) Insufficient notice prior to animal placement or 

utilization of new waste storage facilities 
Y N      500 (x) __     300 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (j) Improper closure of waste storage facility  Y N   1000 (x) __     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (k) Other violations Y N   1000 (x) __     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2. Adjustment Factors:  If there is a threat to human health or safety, or environmental damage multiply the 

Subtotal by 1.5 (Environmental Harm, History of Non Compliance, and Severity). 
 

Compliance History   

 

Order or decree in another media 

program within 36 mo. before initial 

NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 * Violations and 

Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 * Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
 

Culpability(apply to 

violation(s)’ Amount or to 
the Violations and 

Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 Moderate = (x) 0.25 Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Factor Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                   ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (not to exceed $2500 when covered by a VPA permit)  $                          

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.17:1/
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Poultry Waste Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

(for any confined animal feeding operation covered by a Virginia Pollution Abatement permit) 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1.1 

Facility/Responsible Party  Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Potential For Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency (per occurrence per 

inspection unless otherwise noted) (Severity 

and Environmental Harm) 

 $ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

 

  (a) Failure to monitor soils, waste or 

groundwater 
Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (b) Failure to maintain records Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (c) Transfer of more than 10 tons of poultry 

waste without providing the nutrient analysis 

or fact sheet to recipient 

Y N       500 (x) ___      300 (x) ___     100 (x) ___     

  (d) Improper disposal of mortalities Y N    1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (e) Improper storage of poultry waste Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (f) Improper operation and maintenance of waste 

storage facility (per incident) 
Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (g) Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) 

Violations (per incident)  
Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (h) Improper winter land application of poultry 

waste or land application to soils that are 

saturated 

Y N   1000 (x) ____     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (i) Evidence of breached buffers or runoff (per 

incident) 
Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (j) Improper closure of poultry waste storage 

facility 
Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (k) Operator training requirements not met Y N      500 (x) ___     300 (x) ___     100 (x) ___  

  (l) Other violations Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal     

2. Adjustment Factors:  If there is a threat to human health or safety, or environmental damage multiply the 

Subtotal by 1.5 (Environmental Harm, History of Non Compliance, and Severity). 
 

Compliance History                               

 
Order or decree in another media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and 

Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
 

Culpability(apply to 

violation(s)’ Amount or 

to the Violations and 
Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 Moderate = (x) 0.25 Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Factor Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                  ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (not to exceed $2,500 when covered by a VPA permit) $ 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/62.1-44.17:1/
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Article 9 – Underground Storage Tank Program 

The Underground Storage Tank (UST) Program is authorized under Article 9 of the State 

Water Control Law, Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.34:8 and 62.1-44.34:9.   Article 9 typically addresses 

USTs for petroleum products, but also includes USTs for other “regulated substances,” as 

defined by statute.  Authority for negotiated civil charges for violations of Regulated UST 

Program laws, regulations, orders is found in the Water Law at Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d).  The 

maximum civil charge is $32,500 per day for each violation.
26

   

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

 In evaluating the Potential for Harm, issues to consider include the volume of the 

product, characteristics of the product, population density where the discharge/release occurred, 

skill set/training of employees, time of exposure, distance from a drinking water source, 

sensitivity of the environment, or any other criteria that may be appropriate.  The criteria 

established in the Storage Tank Program Compliance Manual, specifically Appendix-C 

Underground Tank Delivery Prohibition Decision Matrix, should provide additional guidance on 

determining the Potential for Harm. 

 

 For example, violation of a regulatory requirement that qualifies for an expedited process 

for delivery prohibition would qualify a serious Potential for Harm.  A violation of a regulatory 

requirement that would qualify under the regular delivery prohibition process may be qualify for 

either moderate or marginal after taking into consideration the issues listed in the preceding 

paragraph.          

                                                 
26

 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 incorporates by reference the penalty amounts from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:8/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:9/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:15/
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Land/Tanks/LPR-SRR-2014-02.pdf
http://deq.state.va.us/Programs/LandProtectionRevitalization/PetroleumProgram/StorageTanks/UndergroundStorageTanks/SecondaryContainment,DeliveryProhibition.aspx
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.32/


 

 

Page 27 of 63 

 

 

 

Underground Storage Tank Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/Va. Code § 62.1-44.15  

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date  

Data 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount 
Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Violations and Frequency* (Severity and Environmental Harm)   

  a. Failure to Report a Release or a Suspected Release Y N $13,000 

 

$6,500 

 

 

$1,300 

 

 

  b. Corrective Action /Monitoring/Closure Report Not 

Submitted 
Y N 

 

$1,300 per phase 

 

$700 per phase 

 

$300 per phase 
 

  c. Failure to Investigate, Abate, or Remediate a Release Y N $5,200 $2,600 $1,300  

  d. Tank system Installed, Upgraded, Equipped, or Closed 

Improperly (per violation) 
Y N 

 

$2,600 per tank *  
$1,300 per tank *  $700 per tank *   

  e. Tank System Operated Improperly (per violation) Y N $1,300 per tank *   700 per tank *  $300 per tank *   

  f. No CAP or Failure to Execute a CAP Y N $2,600 $1,300 $700  

  g. Failure to Demonstrate Financial Assurance Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  h. Records not Available Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  i. Improper/No Registration Y N $1,300 per tank * $700 per tank * $300 per tank *  

  j. Other Violation Component Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

* per tank or, if compartments, per tank compartment     

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0  

3.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 

36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3)  

4.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
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Article 11 – Oil Discharges and Aboveground Storage Tanks 

 

Article 11 of the State Water Control Law
27

 establishes a unique civil charge scheme for 

the discharge of oil, for violations related to aboveground storage tanks (ASTs), and for 

violations of underground storage tanks not regulated under Article 9.  Va. Code § 62.1-

44.34:20(C) establishes civil charges and penalties for: 

 

1. For failing to obtain approval of an oil discharge contingency plan as required by 

§ 62.1-44.34:15;  

2. For failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility as required by § 62.1-

44.34:16; 

3. For discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon state 

waters,  or owning or operating any facility, vessel or vehicle from which such 

discharge originates in violation of § 62.1-44.34:18;  

4. For failing to cooperate in containment and cleanup of a discharge as required by 

§ 62.1-44.34:18 or for failing to report a discharge as required by § 62.1-44.34:19; 

and 

5. For violating or causing or permitting to be violated any other provision of this 

article, or a regulation, administrative or judicial order, or term or condition of 

approval issued under this article… 

 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:17 sets out exemptions for items 1 and 2, above.
 28

  Va. Code § 

62.1-44.34:23 sets out exceptions to Article 11 generally. 

 

Pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-44.34:20(D), in determining the amount of any civil charge 

or penalty pursuant to violations of Article 11, consideration must be given to each of the 

following seven factors: 

 

a. The willfulness of the violation; 

b. Any history of noncompliance; 

c. The actions of the person in reporting, containing and cleaning up any discharge or 

threat of discharge; 

d. The damage or injury to state waters or the impairment of their beneficial use;
29

 

                                                 
27

 Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:14, et seq. 

 
28

 The exemptions and exceptions include (but are not limited to):  (1) farm or residential tanks of 1,100 gallons or 

less capacity used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes (9 VAC 25-580-10) (“UST” definition); (2) 

tanks used for storing heating oil for consumption on the premises where stored (Id.); and (3) aboveground storage 

tanks with a capacity of 5,000 gallons or less containing heating oil for consumption on the premises where stored 

(Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:17(E)). 

 
29

 Though Va. Code §62.1-44.15(8e) states that the procedures for calculating a civil charge shall include, “the 

extent of any potential or actual environmental harm”, note that the specific penalty provision for violations of  

Article 11, Va. Code §62.1-44.34:20(D), does not use the term potential.       

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C15
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:16/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:16/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:18/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:18/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:19/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:17/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:23/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:23/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:14/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-580-10
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:17/http:/law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:17/
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e. The cost of containment and cleanup; 

f. The nature and degree of injury to or interference with general health, welfare and 

property; and  

g. The available technology for preventing, containing, reducing or eliminating the 

discharge. 

Harm Examples 

 

 In evaluating the seven factors, issues to consider include the volume of the product, 

characteristics of the product, population density where the discharge/release occurred, skill 

set/training of employees, time of exposure, distance from a drinking water source, sensitivity of 

the environment, or any other criteria that may be appropriate. 

Discharges to State Waters 

 

When evaluating a civil charge or civil penalty under Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3) the 

following are the suggested increments for each of the seven factors:  

 

Marginal – 5, 10, 20 

Moderate – 30, 45, 60 

Serious – 70, 85, 100 

 

Line 1(a): Nature/Degree of Injury to General Health, Welfare and Property - The 

greater the nature and degree of injury to or interference with property or health, the higher the 

number.  In evaluating the Potential for Harm, consider the amount of the pollutant, the 

characteristics of the pollutant, the sensitivity of the human population and the length of time of 

exposure. 

 

 Serious: Substantial injury to or interference with general health through impacts such 

as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or extensive damage to public and/or 

private property  

 Moderate: Moderate injury to or interference with general health through impacts 

such as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or moderate damage to public 

and/or private property 

 Marginal: Minor injury to or interference with general health through impacts such 

as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or minor damage to public and/or private 

property 

 N/A: No apparent injury to or interference with general health; negligible damage to 

public and/or private property 

 

Line 1(b): Damage/Injury to State Waters or Impairment of Beneficial Use - The 

greater the damage to state waters or impairment of their beneficial uses, the higher the number.  

In evaluating the Potential for Harm, consider the amount of the pollutant, the characteristics of 

the pollutant, the sensitivity of the state waters, and the length of time of exposure. 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
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 Serious: Fish kill (consider the type and number of fish and the waters affected), 

significant threat to sensitive ecosystem, loss of beneficial use, or harm to wildlife  

(especially endangered species), or other impacts that can only be corrected after a 

substantial effort or period of time. 

 Moderate: Moderate threat to State waters, adjoining shorelines, or vegetation (other 

than a sensitive ecosystem) that can be corrected after a period of time  

 Marginal: Spill created a visible sheen, film, sludge, or emulsion and damage was 

quickly corrected 

 N/A: No apparent damage to State waters or impairment of beneficial use 

 

Line 1(c): History of Noncompliance 

 

 History of noncompliance should be analyzed as in all other programs.    

 

Line 1(d): Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning up the Discharge - Prompt 

action will result in a lower number.  This should not be used in conjunction with civil charges or 

civil penalties assessed under Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(4) 

 

 Serious: Failed to timely report/contain or abate/cleanup 

 Moderate: Notification/response inadequate such that containment or cleanup was 

significantly affected 

 Marginal: Delayed notification/response with minor impact 

 N/A: Timely notification and best and most prompt response possible under the 

circumstances 

 

Line 1(e): Cost of Containment and Cleanup - The higher the cost, the lower this 

number will be. 

 

 Serious: The Commonwealth had to expend funds; actual cost to violator to contain 

and cleanup small relative to the size of the discharge 

 Moderate: The Commonwealth had to expend funds; actual cost to violator to contain 

and cleanup comparable to the size of the discharge 

 Marginal: The Commonwealth did not need to expend funds; actual cost to violator to 

contain and cleanup comparable relative to the size of the discharge 

 None: Actual cost to violator to contain and cleanup disproportionate to the size of 

the discharge 

 

Line 1(f): Culpability 

 

 Culpability should be analyzed as in all other programs.    

 

Line 1(g): Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate Discharge - 

(The more readily accessible and less expensive the technology to prevent, contain, reduce or 

eliminate the discharge, the higher this number.) 

 

 Serious: Technology available on site or readily accessible, but not utilized 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
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 Moderate: Technology not available on site, but relatively inexpensive and readily 

accessible on the commercial market 

 Marginal: Technology not available on site, but relatively expensive or not readily 

accessible on the commercial market 

 None: Technology available on site and utilized; technology not on site, but 

prohibitively expensive or not available on the commercial market  
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Oil Discharges (State Waters) Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3) 

Responsible Party/Facility 

 
 

Reg./Id.# NOV Date 

Nature and degree of  Harm  

Serious Moderate 
Marginal, NA 

or None 
Amount 

C (3) for discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon state waters,  or owning or operating any 

facility, vessel or vehicle from which such discharge originates in violation of § 62.1-44.34:18. 

 

1. Statutory Factors Discuss each factor, circle the Potential for Harm and assign a dollar amount between $0 and $100 

to each factor.  

 

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  b. Damage/Injury to State Waters or Impairment of Beneficial Use  70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  c. History of Non-Compliance 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  d. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  e. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 

Spilled)  
70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  f. Culpability (Willfulness) 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  g. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 

Discharge  
70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

Gravity Subtotal Average [Gravity Subtotal divided by seven (7)]  $ 

Number of gallons of oil discharged  

Number of gallons discharged multiplied by the Gravity Subtotal Average  

Economic Benefit of Noncompliance  $ 

Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the party) (        ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  (cannot exceed statutory maximum amounts) $ 

  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:18/
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Oil Discharges (Lands or Storm Drain Systems) Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(5) 

Responsible Party/Facility 

 
 

Reg./Id.# NOV Date 

Nature and degree of  Harm
30

  

Serious Moderate 
Marginal, NA 

or None 
Amount 

C (5) for discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon lands or storm drain systems in violation 

of § 62.1-44.34:18. 

 

1. Nature and Degree of the Violation  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 

Spilled)  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 

Discharge  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

2.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 

High = (x) 

1.0 
$ 

3.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 

36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and 

Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 
$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

4.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

5.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

  

                                                 
30

 Note that VA Code 62.1-44.34:20(D) does not reference the potential for harm.  This worksheet should not be 

used to assess a civil charge or civil penalty for damage or injury to state waters or the impairment of their beneficial 

use.   
 
 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:18/
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Article 11 – Other Violations 

 

For violations of C(1), C(2), and C(4), the noncompliance period considered should 

ordinarily be limited to six months, but may be longer if, for example, there has been a slow leak.  

Staff use best professional judgment on the gallons discharged if better estimates are not 

available. 

 

When evaluating the potential for harm for violations of C(1), C(2), and C(4), consider 

the following examples: 

 

 In assessing C(1), failing to submit and obtain approval of an oil discharge 

contingency plan (ODCP) would be at the higher end of the spectrum compared to an 

incomplete ODCP.  In addition, failing to have an ODCP for a product with a high 

toxicity and requires a special type of emergency response would fall into the higher 

end of the spectrum compared to failing to have an ODCP when a less toxic product 

is involved. 

o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $50,000 for the 

initial violation, and $5,000 per day for each day of violation thereafter  

 

 In assessing C(2), for failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility, a 

Responsible Party whose storage capacity is 25,000 gallons or less would be at the 

lower end of the spectrum compared to an RP whose storage capacity is over 1 

million gallons.  In assessing the potential for harm to the environment, an 

Responsible Party whose product requires a more expensive response cost would be 

at the higher end of the spectrum compared to an Responsible Party whose product 

requires a minimal response cost, which would be at the lower end of the spectrum.   

o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $100,000 for the 

initial violation, and $5,000 per day for each day of violation thereafter.  

 

 In assessing Line C(4) for failing to cooperate in the containment and clean-up, or 

failing to report:  For example, failing to report a discharge of a highly toxic product 

would be at the high end of the spectrum, whereas failing to report a discharge of a 

low toxicity product would be at the low end of the spectrum.  In addition, a 

Responsible Party failing to provide information about the product (i.e., amount, type, 

characteristics) which would hinder the clean-up process would fall at the higher end 

of the spectrum, compared to a Responsible Party who provides necessary 

information about their product.  Furthermore, failing to report a discharge for a week 

would fall into the high end of the spectrum, whereas failing to report a discharge for 

a few hours would fall into the low end of the spectrum. 

o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $50,000 for the 

initial violation, and $10,000 for each day of violation thereafter.  
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Article 11 – Other Violations Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(1,2,&4)) 

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Nature and degree of Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency    

a. Failure to obtain approval of an oil discharge 

contingency plan.  

 

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $5,000 per day.   
$ 

b. Failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility. 

 

Y N $32,500 $20,000 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $5,000 per day.    
$ 

c. Failing to cooperate in containment and clean-up of a 

discharge.   

 

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 

Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $10,000 per day.  

 

$ 

d. Failing to report a discharge  

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 

Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $10,000 per day.  

 

$ 

2.Violations and Frequency Total  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 

Spilled)  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 

Discharge  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

3.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0 $ 

4.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 

36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

5.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

6.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  $                  

  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
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Aboveground Storage Tanks Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(5) – For violating or causing or permitting to be violated any other provision of Article 11, 

including most AST violations (9VAC25-91-10 et seq.).  Each day of violation of each requirement constitutes a separate 

offense.  Discharges of oil to state waters from an AST should be assessed using the Article 11 Worksheet for violations of 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3).   

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Nature and Degree of Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency    

  a. Corrective Action /Monitoring/Closure Report Not 

Submitted 
Y N $1,300  per phase $700 per phase $300 per phase  

  b. AST, pipeline, or facility: Installed, Upgraded, 

Equipped, or Closed Improperly (per violation) 
Y N $2,600 per tank $1,300 per tank $700 per tank  

  c. AST, pipeline, or facility Operated Improperly (per 

violation) 
Y N $1,300 per tank $700 per tank $300 per tank  

  d. Failure to implement any applicable oil spill 

contingency plan or  Failure to Execute an approved CAP 
Y N $2,600 $1,300 $700  

  e. Records not Available Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  f. No Registration or inventory of ASTs Y N $1,300 per tank $  700 per tank $300 per tank  

  g. Other Violation Component Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

2.Violations and Frequency Total  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 

Spilled)  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 

Discharge  
$4,060 $2,030 

$1,020 
$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

3.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0 $ 

4.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 

36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

5.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

6.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

 

  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency25/chapter91/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
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Construction Stormwater 

 

The Construction Stormwater Program is a separate VPDES program authorized under 

the Stormwater Management Act, Article 2.3 of the State Water Control Law, Va. Code §§ 62.1-

44.15:24 through -44.15:50.
31

  This guidance addresses civil charges and penalties for DEQ 

enforcement actions for violations of state requirements.  Negotiated civil charges and civil 

penalties are authorized by Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:25(6) and 62.1-44.15:48(D)(2) for violations 

of the Stormwater Management Act, construction stormwater permit, Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulations, or order of the Water Board or DEQ.
32

  The 

maximum civil charge or civil penalty is $32,500 per day for each violation.
33

 

 

Staff should calculate an appropriate civil charge or civil penalty using the Worksheet at 

the end of this section.  In calculating the appropriate civil charge, staff assess the gravity-based 

component of the charge by selecting the appropriate violation category and potential for harm 

category and multiplying the individual charge noted by the number of occurrences of the 

violation.  Each month of violation is treated as a separate occurrence unless otherwise noted.  

The Degree of Culpability, History of Noncompliance, Economic Benefit, and Ability to Pay 

categories are calculated as they are for other Water Programs. 

 

Violations of Construction Stormwater requirements often accompany violations of 

VWPP Program requirements (unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams).  When VWPP 

violations result from unauthorized discharges of stormwater from land-disturbing activities, the 

VA Water Protection Program Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used to calculate 

the appropriate civil charge or civil penalty for the VWPP violations,
34

 and the Construction 

                                                 
31

 Effective July 1, 2017, HB 1250/SB 673 (2016) consolidates the stormwater and erosion and sediment control 

programs into the Virginia Erosion and Stormwater Management Act, Article 2.3 of the State Water Control Law. 

Code citations referenced in this guidance are those effective prior to that date.  Some authorities will be located at 

different sections of the Code beginning July 1, 2017.   

 
32

 Note that this guidance is only applicable to land disturbing activities subject to regulation under the Stormwater 

Management Act.  Sites with land disturbances between 10,000 square feet and an acre, not part of a larger common 

plan of development or sale, are subject to different penalty authorities under the Erosion and Sediment Control Law 

(ESCL).  The Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should not be used for violations at 

such sites. For violations of the ESCL, Regulations, and orders of the Board, the ESCL limits penalties to $1,000 per 

violation, up to $10,000 for a series of specified violations arising from the same operative set of facts.  Va. Code §§ 

62.1-44.15:54, 62.1-44.15:63.  For violations of court orders, the ESCL authorizes penalties up to $2,000 per 

violation.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.15:63.  Effective July 1, 2017, these penalty authorities will be amended by HB 

1250/SB 673 (2016). Note that for land disturbing activities subject to regulation under the Stormwater Management 

Act, erosion and sediment (E&S) control deficiencies typically constitute violations under both the Stormwater 

Management Act and the ESCL.  DEQ addresses such deficiencies with its greater penalty authority under the 

Stormwater Management Act, and staff should calculate the appropriate civil charge or civil penalty using the 

Worksheet at the end of this section.   

 
33

 Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:25(6) and 62.1-44.15:48(D)(2) incorporate by reference the civil penalty amount from 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.15:48(A). 

 
34

 The line for unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams (line 1(i)) on the VA Water Protection Program 

Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used when the unauthorized discharge of stormwater from land-

disturbing activities results in a measurable volume of sediment accumulation on the bed of the receiving wetland, 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C24
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C24
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C25
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C48
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:54/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:63/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:63/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:25/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:48/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:48/
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Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used to calculate the appropriate 

civil charge or civil penalty for the Construction Stormwater Violations. 

 

Civil penalties in § 10.1-1186 Proceedings and Formal Hearings are assessed as for other 

Water Programs, but use Construction Stormwater Program authorities and criteria.  

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

a. Potential for Harm for Unpermitted Discharge to State Waters or Discharge to 

State Waters Not in Compliance with a Permit  

 

DEQ staff follow the guidance applicable to other Water Programs in assessing the 

potential for harm for unpermitted discharge to state waters or discharge to state waters not in 

compliance with a permit (line 1.a(2)).  Examples of Serious violations for line 1.a(2) include, 

but are not limited to:  fish kills, loss of beneficial uses, and destruction of aquatic habitat. 

 

b. Potential for Harm for all other Violations 

 

In assessing the potential for harm for all violations other than unpermitted discharge to 

state waters or discharge to state waters not in compliance with a permit (line 1.a(2)), DEQ staff 

should first consider the size of the land disturbing activity as follows: 

 

 A Serious ranking generally should be used for large construction activities that result 

in land disturbance of greater than or equal to ten acres of total land area. 

 A Moderate ranking generally should be used for construction activities that result in 

land disturbance of greater than or equal to five acres and less than ten acres of total 

land area. 

 A Marginal ranking generally should be used for construction activities that result in 

land disturbance of less than five acres. 

Staff may adjust these potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors if they 

provide additional justification.  Factors that may impact the potential for harm ranking include, 

but are not limited to: proximity of the land disturbance to the receiving water; surrounding land 

use and cover types; site conditions such as permeability, erodibility, and slope; property 

degradation; impacts to aquatic and wildlife habitat; fish kills and other impacts to wildlife; 

unique aspects or critical habitats; location in a Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area, Resource 

Protection Area, or Resource Management Area; presence of endangered species; water quality; 

any applicable Total Maximum Daily Loads;  impacts to beneficial uses; pollutant content of 

stormwater; proximity to critical area; and extent of the deviation from the statutory, regulatory, 

and/or permit requirement. In assessing potential for harm for failure to install or to properly 

                                                                                                                                                             
stream, or other surface waters.  Unauthorized discharge of stormwater from land-disturbing activities includes both 

discharge without a required construction stormwater permit and discharge in violation of a construction stormwater 

permit.  The VWPP Worksheet should not be used when an unauthorized stormwater discharge results in turbidity 

of the receiving surface water without a measurable volume of sediment accumulation on the bed of the receiving 

water.  See, discussion below regarding use of line 1.a(2) on the Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil 

Penalty Worksheet to address turbidity and other harm to state waters not amounting to a VWPP impact. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1186/
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install post construction stormwater management BMPs (line 1(a)(8)) and failure to install or to 

properly install or maintain E&S controls or other pollution prevention measures (line 1(a)(9)), 

additional factors that may impact the potential for harm ranking include the number of deficient 

BMPs, controls, or measures; drainage area of deficient BMPs or controls; and severity of 

deficiencies.   

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

a. Unpermitted Discharge to State Waters or Discharge to State Waters not in 

Compliance with Permit 

 

Line 1.a(2) should be used where there is a discharge of stormwater from land-disturbing 

activities, which reaches state waters, either (1) from a site without required construction 

stormwater permit coverage, or (2) from a site with permit coverage where required treatment, 

controls, and pollution prevention measures are wholly or almost entirely lacking or deficient, 

such that stormwater discharged from the site has essentially bypassed treatment or control, or  

(3) from a site with permit coverage where stormwater discharge due to a violation of permit 

conditions results in a significant demonstrated environmental impact (e.g., a fish kill).  This line 

should not be used when stormwater discharge results in a measurable volume of sediment 

accumulation on the bed of the receiving water (in which case use line 1(i) on the VA Water 

Protection Program Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet for unauthorized impacts to wetlands 

and/or streams). 

 

b. Failure to Develop a SWPPP, Incomplete SWPPP, and Failure to Have an 

Approved E&S Control Plan or Agreement in Lieu of a E& S Control Plan 

 

In addressing stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) violations, failure to have 

an approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu is addressed separately from the other 

SWPPP components as follows:   

 If a Responsible Party does not have an approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu 

for a site, and no other components of a SWPPP have been developed both lines 1(a)(7) 

(failure to have an approved E&S control plan) and 1(a)(3) (failure to develop a SWPPP) 

should be used.   

 If a Responsible Party does not have approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu for 

a site, and it has some, but not all, of the other components of a SWPPP (e.g., it has an 

approved stormwater management (SWM) plan, but not a pollution prevention plan) both 

lines 1(a)(7) (failure to have an approved E& S control plan) and 1(a)(4) (Incomplete 

SWPPP) should be used. 

 If a site has an approved E&S control plan, but does not have any other components of 

the SWPPP, line 1(a)(3) (failure to develop a SWPPP) should be used. 

 If a site has an approved E&S control plan and has some, but not all, of the other 

components of a SWPPP (e.g., it has an approved SWM plan, but not a pollution 

prevention plan), line 1(a)(4) (Incomplete SWPPP) should be used.  

 

In applying line 1(a)(4) (Incomplete SWPPP), the SWPPP should be considered as a 

whole, rather than assessing a separate occurrence for each SWPPP component that is missing.   
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c. Failure to Maintain SWPPP on site 

 

Line 1(a)(5) should be used when a Site has a SWPPP but it is not on site and notice of 

the SWPPP’s location is not posted.  This line should not be used in conjunction with line 1(a)(3) 

(failure to develop a SWPPP).  If the SWPPP is not on site because no SWPPP has been 

developed, line 1(a)(3) should be used, and not line 1(a)(5). Line 1(a)(5) should be used if there 

is no SWPPP onsite, and DEQ staff have insufficient evidence to support a finding of failure to 

develop a SWPPP. 

 

d. Failure to Install or to Properly Install Post-Construction Stormwater 

Management BMPs, and Failure to Install or to Properly Install or Maintain 

E&S Controls or Other Pollution Prevention Measures 

 

In determining the number of occurrences for Line 1(a)(8) and Line 1(a)(9), deficiencies 

with post construction management BMPs, E&S controls, and pollution prevention measures 

should each be assessed cumulatively for the entire site (rather than assessing a separate 

occurrence for each BMP, control, or measure).  For Line 1(a)(9), a separate occurrence should 

be assessed for each month of documented noncompliance.  Deficiencies with E&S controls and 

deficiencies with pollution prevention measures should be assessed separately.   
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Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:50 

Facility/Responsible Party EA No. Per./Reg. No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity-based Component   

a.  Violations and Frequency (per month unless  noted)   $ (x) occurrences  

  (1) Failure to obtain permit coverage when required prior 

to commencing land disturbing activities 
Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___  900 (x) ___    

  (2) Unpermitted discharge to state waters or discharge to 

state waters not in compliance with a permit (per day 

or per event) 

Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___  

  (3) Failure to develop a stormwater pollution prevention 

plan (SWPPP) 
Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (4) Incomplete SWPPP other than E&S control plan 

requirements (e.g., lack of approved stormwater 

management (SWM) plan (or agreement in lieu of 

SWM plan) or pollution prevention plan)   

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (5) Failure to maintain SWPPP on site (per event) Y N   1,300 (x) ___   700 (x) ___      300 (x) ___  

  (6) Failure to have approved annual standards and 

specifications when required 
Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  (7) Failure to have an approved E&S control plan or 

agreement in lieu of a plan 
Y N   3,900 (x) ___   1,900 (x) ___      700 (x) ___  

  (8) Failure to install or to properly install post-construction 

stormwater management BMPs (per site)  
Y N   9,200 (x) ___   4,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (9) Failure to install or to properly install or maintain 

E&SC controls or other pollution prevention measures 

(per month)  

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (10) Failure to comply with approved annual standards and 

specifications 
Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  (11) Failure to conduct or record inspections, or 

incomplete inspections  
Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (12) Other record or reporting violations  Y N   1,300  (x) ___      650 (x) ___      260 (x) ___   

  (13) Failure to implement permit and/or SWPPP 

requirements or to comply with SWM plan, E&S 

control plan, or other requirement, not otherwise 

specifically listed 

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___   

  (14) Failure to submit notice of permit termination Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  Subtotal 1.a – Violations and Frequency    

b. Aggravating Factors   

  (1) Compliance History    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 

months before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 * subtotal line 1.a, or 

$5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 

months before initial NOV 
Y N If yes, add 0.5 * subtotal 1.a  

  (2) Degree of Culpability (applied to specific line 

amount(s) or subtotal line 1.a) 
Low = (x)*0 

Moderate = 

(x)*0.25 

Serious = 

(x)*0.5 
High = (x)*1.0  

  Subtotal 1 b. – Aggravating Factors  

  Subtotal - Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Add Subtotal #1.a and Subtotal #1.b)     

2. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance   

3. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the facility)   (            ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)   $              

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:50/
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Groundwater Withdrawal Program 

 

Pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-270(A), “Any person who violates any provision of this 

chapter, or who fails, neglects or refuses to comply with any order of the Board pertaining to 

ground water, or order of a court, issued as herein provided, shall be subject to a civil penalty not 

to exceed $25,000 for each violation within the discretion of the court.  Each day of violation of 

each requirement shall constitute a separate offense.” 

 

 For the purposes of calculating an occurrence for an unpermitted withdrawal, each month 

of a withdrawal of 300,000 gallons or more should be considered a separate occurrence.     

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

 Volume of Withdrawals 

 

Serious, Moderate, and Marginal rankings are based on the annual water withdrawals of 

the withdrawal system and adjusted based on any specific environmental harm assessment.  In 

the case of unpermitted withdrawals, best professional judgment should be used to estimate the 

annual withdrawal amount where withdrawals were not metered or readings may be suspect.   

  

Environmental Harms 

 

Serious Classification 

 

 withdrawal systems permitted to withdraw 1 billion gallons or more annually; 

 exceeding annual permitted withdrawal limit greater than 10%; 

 unauthorized withdrawal or withdrawal exceedances at or near areas where there are; 

water levels estimated to be below critical surface levels; 

 failure to implement a Water Conservation Management Plan or mandatory 

conservation measures during a declared drought emergency; or 

 multiple well pump intakes set below the top of the aquifer. 

 

Moderate Classification 

 

 withdrawal systems permitted to withdraw less than 1 billion gallons but more than 

10 million gallons annually;  

 exceeding monthly permitted water withdrawal limits greater than 10%; or  

 Failing to implement a water conservation and management plan. 

 

Marginal Classification 

 

 In the absence of specific environmental harm or areas more sensitive to excess 

withdrawal, a Marginal ranking is to be used for withdrawal systems permitted to 

withdraw 10 million gallons or less annually. 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter25/section62.1-270/
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Staff may adjust the potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors such as 

but are not limited to: proximity to other groundwater withdrawals, evidence of land subsidence, 

incidents/reports of well interference, coastal areas with high risk of saltwater intrusion/increased 

chloride zones, populated areas dependent on groundwater. 

 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

 

Line 1(c) through 1(e): When assessing a civil charge or civil penalty for these line items, chose 

the line item that corresponds with the longest reporting period only.  In the event that one or 

more of these line items is violated, staff should evaluate the potential for harm to determine 

whether its potential for harm should be increased.     
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Groundwater Withdrawal Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-270(A) 

Facility/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Potential for Harm 
(Potential for Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency  (Severity and 

Environmental Harm)       
 

 
$ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences  

a. Unpermitted withdrawal  Y N 12,500 (x) ____   6,250 (x) ____  3,125 (x) ____  

b. Failure to mitigate  Y N 12,500 (x) ____   6,250 (x) ____  3,125 (x) ___  

c. Daily withdrawal limits (per day) Y N   1,680 (x) ____      840(x) ____     170 (x) ____  

d. Monthly withdrawal limits (per month) Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____  

e. Annual withdrawal limits  Y N   6,710 (x)  ____   3,360 (x)  ___  1,680 (x) ____  

f. Failure to implement a Water Conservation 

Management Plan 
Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

g. Failure to submit, complete  Record or 

reporting);  (per reporting period) 
Y N 3,100 (x) ___ 1,550 (x) ___ 840 (x) ___  

h. Failure to install and/or maintain equipment 

or other operational deficiencies 
Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____       

i. Other, Violation of Permit, Special 

Exceptions or Special Conditions NOT 

listed above (per event) 

Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2. Adjustment Factors  (applied to Violations and Frequency Subtotal)  

a.   Compliance History (Compliance History)   

Order or decree in another media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000  

Order or decree in same media program within 

36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.)  

 

b.  

Degree of Culpability (Severity and 

Environmental Harm) (apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal)       

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = (x) 

0.25 
Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)    

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)  (                ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $25,000 per day per violation)   $   

 

 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-270
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Land Protection and Remediation Programs 

 

The Virginia Waste Management Act at Va. Code § 10.1-1455(F) provides for negotiated 

civil charges in a consent order for past violations of the Act, any regulation or order of the 

Board or Director, or any permit condition.  The maximum civil charge is $32,500 for each 

violation, with each day being a separate violation.   

 

For this section, the Land Protection and Remediation Programs include the Solid Waste, 

the Hazardous Waste, and the Remediation Programs.  Remediation Consent Orders (RCOs) 

under the Remediation Program are not enforcement orders, but are based on the authority of the 

Virginia Waste Management Board under Va. Code § 10.1-1402(19) through (21) allows the 

Board to take actions to contain or clean-up sites where substances within the jurisdiction of the 

Board have been improperly managed.  The Board has authority to enforce RCOs as any other 

order. 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

Risk of Exposure 

 

The risk of exposure involves both the probability of exposure and the potential 

consequences that may result from exposure.
35

  In considering the risk of exposure, emphasis is 

placed on the potential for harm posed by a violation as well as on whether harm actually 

occurred.  The facility may have no control over the presence or absence of direct harm.  Such 

facilities should not be rewarded with lower civil charges simply because the violations did not 

result in actual harm. 

 

Where a violation involves the improper management of waste, a civil charge should 

reflect the probability that the violation could have or has resulted in a release of waste or waste 

constituents or could have or has resulted in a threat of exposure to waste or waste constituents.  

Staff determine the likelihood of a release based on whether the integrity and/or stability of the 

waste management unit is likely to have been compromised.  Some factors to consider in making 

this determination are:  evidence of release (e.g., existing soil or groundwater contamination); 

evidence of waste mismanagement (e.g., rusting drums); and adequacy of provisions for 

detecting and preventing a release (e.g., monitoring equipment and inspection procedures).  A 

larger civil charge is presumptively appropriate where the violation significantly impairs the 

ability of the waste management system to prevent and/or allow detection of releases of waste 

and constituents. 

 

In calculating risk of exposure, staff weighs the harm that would result if the waste or 

constituents were in fact released to the environment.  Some factors to consider in making this 

determination are:  quantity and toxicity of wastes (potentially) released; likelihood or fact of 

transport by way of environmental media (e.g., air and groundwater); and existence, size, and 

                                                 
35

  While the violation must have occurred in Virginia, the assessment of environmental harm may consider impacts 

both within and beyond the boundaries of the Commonwealth (e.g., impacts to a neighboring state’s groundwater). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1455
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1402


 

 

Page 46 of 63 

 

proximity of receptor populations (e.g., local residents, fish, and wildlife, including threatened or 

endangered species); and sensitive environmental media (e.g., surface waters and aquifers). 

 

There are some requirements of the Land Protection and Remediation Programs that, if 

violated, may not appear to give rise directly or immediately to a significant risk of 

contamination; nevertheless, they are necessary to assure protection of human health and the 

environment.  Examples of regulatory harm include, but are not limited to:  

 

 Failure to notify as a generator or transporter of hazardous waste and/or owner of a 

hazardous waste facility; 

 Failure to comply with financial assurance requirements; 

 Failure to submit a timely/adequate solid waste Part B application; 

 Failure to respond to an authorized information request; 

 Operating without a permit; 

 Failure to prepare or maintain a hazardous waste manifest; 

 Failure to install or conduct adequate groundwater monitoring; and  

 Failure to maintain records required to verify compliance. 

 

The following section provides examples for each of the classification levels.  The 

examples of violations for each classification are not used to determine whether a violation 

warrants formal enforcement.  Departures from the examples should be discussed with Central 

Office and documented in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan. 

 

Serious Classification 

 

 In Hazardous Waste, failure to make a waste determination.  9 VAC 20-60-262, 

incorporating 40 CFR § 262.11.  It is possible that the waste is in fact hazardous, 

which could lead to improper management and disposal of the waste.       

 In Solid Waste, failure to take immediate steps to minimize, control, or eliminate 

a leachate seep, and to contain and properly manage the leachate at the source of 

the seep.  9 VAC 20-81-210(F).  Additionally, they are required to properly 

collect and dispose of any leachate outside the lined area permitted for waste 

disposal.  If a Responsible Party fails to properly address its leachate seeps as 

required by the regulation and does not control the seep or properly dispose of 

leachate outside the lined area there is a substantial likelihood that this leachate 

will adversely affect human health and the environment through potential soil, 

surface water and groundwater contamination, thus substantially increasing the 

likelihood of exposure.    

 

Moderate Classification 

 

 In Hazardous Waste, failure of owners/operators to inspect, at least weekly, container 

storage areas to ensure containers are not deteriorating or leaking (incorporated 40 

CFR § 264.174).  If a Responsible Party was inspecting storage areas twice monthly, 

this situation could present a significant risk of release of hazardous wastes to the 

environment.  Because some inspections were occurring, it is unlikely that a leak 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter60/section262/
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.262_111&rgn=div8
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter81/section210/
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=pt40.26.264&rgn=div5#sp40.26.264.i
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=pt40.26.264&rgn=div5#sp40.26.264.i
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would go completely undetected; however, the frequency of the inspections may 

allow a container to leak for up to two weeks unnoticed.  9 VAC 20-60-264, 

incorporating 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart I.   

 In Solid Waste, 9 VAC 20-81-140(B)(2) requires that the active working face of a 

sanitary landfill shall be kept as small as practicable. If the Responsible Party fails to 

keep the working face as small as practicable, there is an increased risk that vectors, 

fires, odors, blowing litter, and scavenging will not be controlled. 

 

Marginal Classification 

 

 In Hazardous Waste, failure of owners or operators of hazardous waste facilities to 

sign each manifest certification by hand.  If a facility was using manifests that had a 

type-written name where the signature should be, but the manifests were otherwise 

completed correctly and had other indicia that the information was correct, the 

likelihood of exposure and adverse effect on the implementation of the program may 

be relatively low.  9 VAC 20-60-262, incorporating 40 CFR § 262.23. 

 IN Solid Waste, failure to control blowing litter.  If blowing litter was observed on 

the landfill and the violation was not chronic or continuing, the marginal potential for 

harm classification would be appropriate.  9 VAC 20-81-140(B).  

 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

The categories are the numbered items (Categories 1 through 6) that make up the 

rows of the Worksheet.  Because there is no listing of violations on the Worksheet, a 

separate Worksheet is completed for each violation; however, staff may consolidate 

multiple violations that arise out of a single act or omission into a single violation for 

purposes of calculating civil charges.  Staff use the following procedures to determine the 

appropriate civil charge for each category listed on the Worksheet. 

 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-264
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=sp40.26.264.i&rgn=div6
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter81/section140/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-262
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr262_main_02.tpl
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-81-140
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Extent of Deviation from Requirement Category 

 

The "extent of deviation" from Land Protection and Remediation Program requirements 

relates to the degree to which the violation departs from the requirement.  In determining the 

extent of the deviation, the following categories should be used:  

 

 Major:  Deviations from requirements of the statute, regulation, order, or permit to 

such an extent that most (or important aspects) of the requirements are not met, 

resulting in substantial noncompliance.  

 Moderate:  Discernible deviations from the requirements of the statute, regulation, 

order, or permit, but some of the requirements are implemented as intended.  

 Minor:  Deviations to a lesser extent from the statute, regulation, order, or permit, but 

most (or all important aspects) of the requirements are met.  

 

As one example, 9 VAC 20-60-265, incorporating 40 CFR § 265.112, requires that 

owners or operators of treatment, storage, and disposal facilities have a written closure plan.  

This plan must identify the steps necessary to completely or partially close the facility at any 

point during its intended operating life.  Possible violations of the requirements of this regulation 

range from having no closure plan at all to having a plan which is minimally inadequate (e.g., it 

omits one minor step in the procedures for cleaning and decontaminating the equipment while 

complying with the other requirements).  Such violations should be assigned to the "major" and 

"minor" categories, respectively.  A violation between these extremes might involve failure to 

modify a plan for increased decontamination activities as a result of a spill on-site and would be 

assigned to the moderate category.  

 

As another example, 9 VAC 20-60-265, incorporating 40 CFR § 265.14, requires that 

owners or operators of treatment, storage, and disposal facilities take reasonable care to keep 

unauthorized persons from entering the active portion of a facility where injury could occur.  

Generally, a physical barrier must be installed and any access routes controlled.  The range of 

potential noncompliance with the security requirements is broad.  Total noncompliance with 

regulatory requirements such as this would result in classification into the major category.  In 

contrast, the violation may consist of a small oversight such as failing to lock an access route on 

a single occasion.  With all other factors being equal, the less significant noncompliance should 

draw a smaller penalty assessment.  In the matrix system this is achieved by choosing the minor 

category. 

 

To determine the charge for a violation or consolidated violations, staff select the proper 

charge from the Worksheet corresponding to the Potential for Harm and the Extent of Deviation 

for the violation(s), and enter this number in the “Amount” column of the Worksheet. 

 

Multi-Day Component Category 

 

A multi-day factor for continuing violations may be applied by multiplying the number of 

days of continuing violations by the factor in the appropriate Worksheet column based on the 

Potential for Harm classification and the Extent of Deviation designation.  Where separate 

charges are not assessed for daily, documented violations, DEQ uses the Multi-Day Component 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-265
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.265_112&rgn=div8
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-265
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.265_114&rgn=div8
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Category for days 2 through 180 for continuing violations in appropriate cases.  This factor is 

generally applied when there is solid evidence to support continuing, discrete violations over an 

extended period.  For example, a multi-day component would normally be applied in cases 

where multiple, continuing releases occurred under the same circumstances.  The multi-day 

factor would not routinely be used for violations not related to discrete, continuing violations 

(e.g., operating without a permit).  Use of a multi-day component is presumed for days 2 through 

180 of all violations that cause a facility to be designated as SNC.  For purposes of enforcing an 

RCO, each day of noncompliance with the RCO is considered a “discrete violation.”  A violation 

of an RCO that is also a violation of another statute, regulation, permit condition or order, should 

be assessed as an RCO violation and a violation of that standard. 

 

Upon determining that a multi-day factor is appropriate, staff would then select the 

proper charge from the Worksheet, depending on the Potential for Harm and the Extent of 

Deviation.  Staff then multiply the appropriate multi-day factor by the number of days of 

continuing violations, and enter the subtotal in the “Amount” column of the Worksheet.  The 

multi-day component may be applied beyond 180 days in appropriate or egregious situations. 
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Land Protection/Remediation Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 10.1-1455 

Permittee/Responsible Party  Permit/ID No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential For Harm 

Amount      Violation No. ______ Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Extent of Deviation from Requirement   

  a.  Major Y N 
$26,000 

 

$9,000 

 

$2,600 

 
                  

  b.  Moderate Y N 
 $13,000 

 

 $6,000 

 

 $1,300 

 
                  

  c.  Minor Y N 
 $8,000 

 

 $3,500 

 

 $300 

 
                  

  d.  Subtotal                    

2. Multi-Day Component (n = number of days of continuing, discrete violations)  

  a. Does the multi-day component apply?  If no, go to #3.                                                                                            Y N       

  b. Major Y N $1,300 (x) n =   $700 (x) n =  $200 (x) n =                    

  c. Moderate Y N $1,000 (x) n =  $400 (x) n =  $150 (x) n =                    

  d. Minor Y N    $700 (x) n =   $200 (x) n =  $100 (x) n =                    

  e. Remedy Consent Order Y N     $250 (x) n =  $100 (x) n =  $50 (x) n =  

  e. Multi-day subtotal                    

3. Degree of Culpability  

  Culpability subtotal (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the sum 

of 1 and 2.) 
Low = (x) 0 

Moderate = (x) 

0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0                   

4. Compliance History   

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 

mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) sum of 1 and 2, 

or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 

before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) sum of 1 and 2 (for 1 order 

in 36 mo.) 
 

 RCO Compliance History Y N If yes, add 0.15 (x) sum of 1 and 2  

5. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance                   

6. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the owner/operator)   (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)   $ 

 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1455
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Pollutant Discharge Elimination System and Pollution Abatement Program 

 

The State Water Control Law at Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d) provides for the payment of 

civil charges in consent orders for past violations.  This statutory section is the basis for 

negotiated civil charges in the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Program, and Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Program.  With the exception of 

consent orders to prevent or minimize sanitary sewer overflows (SSOs),
36

 the maximum civil 

charge is $32,500 for each violation, with each day being a separate violation.
37

   

 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

This section provides some examples of violations for each potential for harm 

classification.  These examples are not determinative of whether or not a violation warrants 

formal enforcement.  The evaluation of other examples of a specific potential for harm should be 

done in collaboration with the Central Office and documented in the Enforcement 

Recommendation Plan. 

 

Serious Classification 

 

Examples include, but are not limited to:  fish kills, effluent violations resulting in loss of 

beneficial uses, failure to report an unpermitted discharge, chronic refusal to apply for a permit, 

or perform a Toxics Management Plan (TMP).  

 

Moderate Classification 

   

Examples include, but are not limited to:  failure to perform annual or quarterly 

inspections as required by a VPDES general permit, failure to observe Best Management 

Practices (BMPs) in VPDES permits, chronic late submission of monitoring reports or permit 

application, or failure to follow an operation & maintenance manual. 

 

Marginal Classification 

 

Examples include, but are not limited to:  an improperly completed Discharge Monitoring 

Report (DMR) in any case where the DMR does not report permit violations that would be 

classified as Serious or Moderate; minor exceedence of VPDES permit effluent limits and of 

land application rates with no impact to ground or surface water. 

                                                 
36

 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8f) establishes maximum civil charges for SSO violations in consent orders requiring SSO 

corrective action.  Any such order may impose civil penalties in amounts up to the maximum amount authorized in § 

309(g) of the Clean Water Act.  These limits are subject to change and the Code of Federal Regulations should be 

consulted 

 
37

 The maximum amounts for consent civil charges are incorporated by reference from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32(a). 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.32
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Calculating the Civil Charge 

Gravity Based Component 

  

Staff identifies all of the violations being addressed in the gravity-based component 

section of the Worksheet and calculates the civil charge separately for each violation.  The 

gravity-based component covers two areas:  (a) violations and frequency; and (b) aggravating 

factors as multipliers.  Staff categorize the charges in the first area (violations and frequency) 

based on their Potential for Harm classification. 

 

The noncompliance period considered should generally be limited to six months prior to 

the date of referral.  Civil charges generally should not exceed $50,000 per month of 

noncompliance.  Under the gravity-based component staff mark “Y” or “N” for each violation 

that applies and determine the civil charge per violation based on the number of occurrences and 

the Potential for Harm classification.  The charge is then entered into the “Amount” column of 

the Worksheet. 

 

Violations and Frequency:
  
The violations generally fall into one of the following 

categories and the frequency is per month, unless otherwise noted: 

 

(1) Effluent Limits (per parameter per month, or longer, specified interval)
38

 

(2) Operational Deficiencies 

(3) Monitoring/Submissions 

(4) Spills/Unpermitted discharges (per day or per event) 

(5) Compliance/Construction/Payment Schedules 

(6) No Permit 

(7) Failure to Report (per event per month) 

(8) BMPs not installed or maintained 

(9) Failure to record inspections (storm water) 

(10) No storm water pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) (storm water) 

(11) Incomplete SWPPP or SWPPP not on site (per event) (storm water) 

(12) Biosolids transport violation (per vehicle or per event)
39

 

(13) Other 

 

Staff should mark the data column for each type of violation and apply the appropriate 

multiplier in the Worksheet, depending on the number of occurrences and whether the violation 

is Serious, Moderate, or Marginal.  The charge is then entered into the “Amount” column of the 

Worksheet. 

 

                                                 
38

 For purposes of penalty calculation, permit conditions with the same limits for daily, weekly, and monthly 

concentrations of the same pollutant are considered one parameter. 

 
39

 If the biosolids transport violation also causes a discharge to state waters, use both items (4) and (12). 
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Aggravating Factors as Multipliers:  After calculating charges for each violation 

category, staff add the charges to arrive at a subtotal.  Aggravating factors are then considered 

and added as appropriate.  Aggravating factors are:   

 

 Major Facility:  If a VPDES facility is classified as "major" using EPA criteria, this 

factor applies. 

 

Flow Reduction Factor:  The gravity-based component total may be reduced for small 

sewage treatment plants (STPs).  The reduction is discretionary and is based on good faith efforts 

to comply.  The factor relies on actual average daily STP flow
40

, as follows: 

 

FLOW REDUCTION FACTOR 

Average Daily Flow (gpd) Percent Reduction 

9,999 or less 50 

10,000 – 29,999 30 

30,000 – 99,999 10 

100,000 and above No Reduction 

 

If the reduction is being considered for a non-municipal STP, staff should ensure that the 

facility or parent company employs less than 100 individuals.  In using the flow reduction factor, 

staff multiply the gravity-based component total by the appropriate percentage figure (e.g., for a 

facility with less than 5,000 gpd average daily flow, the reduction is 50%) to obtain the reduction 

amount.  If the permit flow is monthly, divide by 30.4 to get the gpd.  Using the appropriate 

Worksheet, staff subtract the reduction amount from the gravity-based component total to obtain 

the flow-adjusted gravity-based component total. 

 

  

                                                 
40

 “Flow" means monthly average daily flow from the facility for the month in which the violation(s) occurred. 
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VPDES Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 
(For Violations Other Than VWPP, Article 9,  Article 11, Surface Water/Ground Water Withdrawal, AFO/Poultry and Const. Stormwater Programs) 

Facility/Responsible Party EA No. Per./Reg. No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential for Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity-based Component   

a.  Violations and Frequency (per month unless otherwise 

noted) 
  

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 
 

  (1) Effluent Limits (per parameter per month, or longer, 

specified interval) 
Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___   

  (2) Operational Deficiencies Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___   

  (3) Monitoring/Submissions Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___    

  (4) Spills/Unpermitted Discharge (per day or per event).  

Discharges of oil must be assessed using the Article 11 

worksheet.   

Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___    

  (5) Compliance/Construction/Payment Schedules Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___     300 (x) ___   

  (6) No Permit Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___     900 (x) ___    

  (7) Failure to Report (per event per month) Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___    

  (8) BMPs not installed or maintained (stormwater) Y N   6,500 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___   

  (9) Failure to record inspections (stormwater) Y N   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___      260 (x) ___    

  (10) No SWPPP (per event) (storm water) Y N 9,100 (x) ___   5,200 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___   

  (11) Incomplete SWPPP or SWPPP not on site (per event) 

(storm water) 
Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (12)Biosolids transport violation (per vehicle or per event) Y N   6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___  

  (13) Other Y N  2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___   

  Subtotal 1.a – Violations and Frequency    

b. Aggravating Factors     

  (1) Major Facility Y N Subtotal #1.a (x) 0.4   

  (2) Compliance History    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 mo. 

before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) subtotal line 1.a, or 

$5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 

before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) subtotal line 1.a (for 1 order 

in 36 mo.) 
 

  (3) Degree of Culpability (applied to specific line amount(s) 

or subtotal line 1.a) 
Low = (x) 0 

Moderate = (x)  

0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0  

  Subtotal 1 b. – Aggravating Factors  

  Subtotal - Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Add Subtotal #1.a and Subtotal #1.b)     

c. Flow Reduction Factor (STP VPDES only) (discretionary 

based on good faith efforts to comply) 
Y N % Reduction  

Reduction 

Amount 
  (                    ) 

 
 Flow-Adjusted Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Subtract Subtotal 1.c from Gravity Based Component 

Subtotal) 
 

2. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance   

3. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the facility)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) (SSO maximum civil subject 

to change.  Refer to the CFR).  
 $              

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
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Water Protection Permit Program 

Wetland and Stream Impacts 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

In assessing the potential for harm for this line DEQ staff should first consider the 

relative level of impacts reflected by the permitting thresholds.  For example, discharges or 

impacts that would require an individual permit are considered serious, impacts that would have 

required a full general permit requiring compensation are considered moderate, and impacts that 

would have required reporting-only are considered marginal.  

 

If staff believe that these thresholds should be adjusted staff should provide additional 

justification by considering the following factors:   classification of a wetland type (e.g., PFO, 

PSS, PEM)
41

; surrounding land use and cover types; nutrient, sediment, and pollutant trapping 

ability; flood control and flood storage capacity, and flood flow synchronization; erosion control 

and shoreline stabilization; groundwater recharge and discharge; aquatic and wildlife habitat; 

unique aspects or critical habitats; water quality; and recreation, education, aesthetics, or other 

beneficial uses.
 42

  

  

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

The Virginia Water Protection Permit (VWPP) Program is authorized under Va. Code §§ 

62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23.  Negotiated civil charges for Virginia Water Protection Permit 

(VWPP) violations are authorized by Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d). The maximum penalty is 

$32,500 per day for each violation.
43   

 

This section addresses wetland excavation; draining, altering or degrading; filling or 

dumping; permanent flooding or impounding; new activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions; or alteration of the properties of state 

waters. 

 

Civil charges and civil penalties for VWPP violations are assessed per occurrence.  An 

occurrence is defined as a separate, identifiable, discrete act that results in a discharge of a 

pollutant to state waters.  Separate civil charges are usually assessed:  (1) for total impacts to 

streams and (2) for total impacts to wetlands, based on the potential for harm to the environment 

and the extent of deviation from regulatory program.  However, each separate NOV marks a new 

occurrence for purposes of determining wetlands and streams violations.  Wetland type is not 

considered when determining the number of occurrences, unless the different wetland types were 

                                                 
41

 Under the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Wetland Classification System, wetlands are of two basic types: coastal 

(also known as tidal or estuarine wetlands) and inland, also known as non-tidal, freshwater, or palustrine wetlands 

which have three classes: palustrine emergent (PEM), palustrine scrub-shrub, (PSS), and palustrine forested (PFO). 

 
42

 Va. Water Protection Functional Loss Criteria.  See, 9 VAC 25-210-80(B)(1)(k)(1) and 9 VAC 25-210-116(A). 

43
 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 incorporates by reference the civil charge amount from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32. 

 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://www.water.ncsu.edu/watershedss/info/wetlands/class.html
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-116
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.32/
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subject to separate discharges of pollutants in a new NOV.  Also, an individual stream reach is 

not considered when determining the number of occurrences, unless there have been separate 

discharges affecting the same or differing portions of the stream(s) in a new NOV. 

 

In assessing a civil charge for the unauthorized discharge of pollutants to state waters, 

three elements will be considered and evaluated individually: 

 

 Discharges to wetlands 

 Discharges to streams 

 New NOVs alleging:  (1) discharges discovered since a prior inspection; (2) 

continuing and ongoing discharges that took place over days, weeks, or months; 

or (3) erosion and sediment (E&S) control violations that have not been abated. 

 

Line 1(a): Failure to obtain coverage under an Individual Permit (IP) or a General Permit 

(GP) prior to commencing activity - This line should be used to assess the effect on, and the 

extent of the deviation from, the regulatory requirements, e.g. avoiding and circumventing the 

permitting and evaluative process which ensures the appropriate avoidance and minimization 

options and alternative sites were fully explored, and any areas that could not be avoided were 

fully compensated for in a consistent and manner to ensure no net loss. 

 

Description Serious Moderate Marginal 

Impacts to more than two (2) acres of 

wetlands or open water or more than 1,500 

linear feet (LF) of stream 

 

X 
  

Impacts from 1/10 to two (2) acres of 

wetlands or open water or from 301 to 

1,500 LF of stream 

  

X 
 

Impact to less than 1/10 acre of wetlands or 

open water or up to 300 LF of stream. 
   

X 

 

Line 1(b): Exceeding coverage authorized under an IP or GP – This line should be used 

when a Responsible Party has exceeded the impacts covered by the type of permit or registration 

it holds.  This line should be used to assess the extent of the deviation from the regulatory 

requirements.  The potential for harm for this line is assessed as follows: 

 

Description Serious Moderate Marginal 

Exceedances that: 

1) Cause a project to move from 

requiring a GP to an IP (i.e., total project 

impacts now exceed 2 acres of wetlands or 

open water or 1,500 LF of streams); or  

2) Exceed permitted impacts by 2 or 

more acres of wetlands or open water, or 

1,500 or more LF of stream. 

 

X 
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Exceedences that: 

1) Cause a project to move from 

requiring a reporting-only general permit to 

a full general permit (i.e., total project 

impacts now exceed 0.10 acre of wetlands 

or open water, or 300 LF of streams.); or 

2) Require a major modification of an 

individual permit (i.e., changes that 

cumulatively exceed 0.25 acre but less than 

2.0 acres of wetlands/open water, or that 

cumulatively exceed 100 LF but less than 

1,500 LF of stream); or 

3) Require an additional GP or 

reauthorization of a GP.  This would be 

change(s) that cumulatively exceed 0.25 

acre of wetlands/open water or 100 LF. 

  

X 
 

Exceedances that would be equivalent to or 

less than a minor modification of an IP 

under 9 VAC 25-210-180(F) or a Notice of 

Planned Change under 9 VAC 25-690-

80(B).  Thresholds are cumulative increases 

in acreage of wetland or open water impacts 

up to 0.25 acre and cumulative increases in 

stream bed impacts up to 100 LF. 

   

X 

 

Line 1(c): Failure to perform or complete compensatory mitigation - This line should be 

used to capture the failure to perform or complete compensation requirements required by the 

permit, e.g. purchase of wetland or stream credits, preservation, restoration or enhancement, or 

wetland creation.   

 

Line 1(d): Failure to perform or complete corrective action relative to unsuccessful 

compensation (after the monitoring period has begun) - This line should be used when the 

Responsible Party fails to implement corrective action to ensure compensation meets no net loss. 

 

Line 1(e): Failure to conduct compensation monitoring or water quality monitoring - This 

line should be used when the Responsible Party fails to perform the affirmative act of monitoring 

or the totality of the circumstances indicates that the monitoring has not been conducted.  Not to 

be used in place of 1(l) but in conjunction with it. 

 

Line 1(f): Failure to conduct construction monitoring - See, 1(e) above. 

 

Line 1(g): Failure to submit preconstruction notice. 

 

Line 1(h): Failure to submit plans and specifications prior to commencing construction 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-180
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-690-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-690-80
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Line 1(i): Unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams (wetlands and streams will be 

assessed separately). 

 

i. This line should be used when the Responsible Party has discharged 

pollutants to state waters (wetlands or streams) per occurrence, and should 

be used in conjunction with 1(a) or 1(b). 

ii. Where the discharge of pollutants is a result of, but not limited to, the 

failure of E&S controls and unattenuated stormwater, failure to stabilize 

disturbed lands, or the failure and/or inadequate use of BMP’s, this 

violation should be used without assessing line 1(a) or line 1(b).   

 

Line 1(j): Failure to comply with permit special conditions - This line should be used 

when the Responsible Party has failed to comply with permit special conditions including, but 

not limited to, storm water management; E&S controls; flagging non-impact areas; restoring 

temporary impacts; working in the dry time-of-year restrictions; maintain minimum instream 

flow; operating equipment in streams; discharge of concrete to waters; etc. 

 

Line 1(k): Failure to submit a complete, final compensation plan –Not to be used with 

1(h) or 1(l). 

 

Line 1(l): Records or reporting violations - This line should be used, but is not limited to, 

when the RP has failed to:  record easements (other than 1(c)); certify reports; submit complete 

construction, mitigation, or water quality monitoring reports; submit as-built surveys; notify of 

permit transfer, etc. 
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VWPP Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23 

Permittee/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg. No. Date 

Potential for Harm 

(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Gravity Factors – Surface Water and Wetlands (Severity and Environmental Harm)  

                Violations and Frequency        $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences (Comments) 

a. Failure to obtain coverage under an Individual 

Permit (IP) or a General Permit (GP) prior to 

commencing activity 

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 

 

b. Exceeding coverage authorized under an IP or 

GP  
Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 

 

c. Failure to perform or complete compensatory 

mitigation   
Y N 26,000 (x) ___ 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 

 

d. Failure to perform or complete corrective action 

relative to unsuccessful compensation. 
Y N 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 

 

e. Failure to conduct compensation  monitoring or 

water quality monitoring 
Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 

 

f. Failure to conduct construction monitoring  Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

g. Failure to submit preconstruction notice  Y N 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___  

h. Failure to submit plans and specifications prior 

to commencing construction 
Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 

 

i. Unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams 

(wetlands and streams will be assessed 

separately) 

Y N 26,000 (x) ___ 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 

 

j. Failure to comply with permit special conditions  Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

k. Failure to submit a complete, final 

compensation plan  
Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300(x) ___ 

 

l. Record or reporting violations (not otherwise 

specified) 
Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___ 

 

 

 

  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal  

3. Aggravating Factors (Severity and Compliance History)  

a History of Noncompliance   

 
Order or decree in another media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal (for 1 

order in 36 mo.) 
 

b Degree of Culpability(apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal)) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 

0.5 
High = (x) 1.0  

 Aggravating Factor Subtotal  

 Gravity-Based Component Subtotal  (1+2)  

4. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5. Ability to Pay (Ability to Pay)    (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $               

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
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Surface water Withdrawal Program
44

 

 

 The Virginia Water Protection Permit Program should pursue violations of Va. Code § 

62.1-44.15:22 and 9 VAC 25-210-10 et seq. that involves the unauthorized withdrawal of surface 

water and other conditions necessary to protect beneficial uses.   

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

Staff may adjust the potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors such as 

but are not limited to: proximity to other surface water withdrawals, potential impacts to 

downstream uses; impacts to aquatic and wildlife habitat; fish kills and other impacts to wildlife; 

unique aspects or critical habitats; water quality; any applicable Total Maximum Daily Loads; or 

impacts to beneficial uses. 

 

Serious Classification 

 

 exceeding(daily, monthly, or annual)  permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 

greater than 25%; 

 unauthorized Withdrawal comprises greater than 25% of instream flow at the intake; 

 failure to implement a Water Conservation Management Plan or mandatory 

conservation measures during a declared drought emergency; or 

 exceeding withdrawal limits or failing to meet instream flow requirements or 

impoundment releases in streams resulting in impacts to wildlife. 

 

Moderate Classification 

 

 exceeding (daily, monthly, or annual) permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 

between 10% and 25%  

 Unauthorized Withdrawal comprises between 10%  and 25% percent of instream flow 

at the intake 

 Failing to implement a drought management plan 

 Chronic late submission of monitoring reports or permit application, or failure to 

follow an operation & maintenance manual. 

 

Marginal Classification 

 

 Exceeding (daily, monthly, or annual) permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 

by less than 10%  

 Unauthorized Withdrawal comprises less than 10% of the instream flow at the intake 

                                                 
44

 Surfacewater withdrawals in violation of the Virginia Water Protection Permit Program should not be 

confused with violations involving Surface Water Management Areas.  Violations of this section of the State water 

control law are to be assessed pursuant to that pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-252(A) which states that, “Any person 

who violates any provision of this chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each violation.  

Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.” 
 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:22/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency25/chapter210/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter24/section62.1-252/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter24/section62.1-252/
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Civil Charge Calculations 

 

Line 1(a), Unpermitted Withdrawal:  An occurrence is defined by the regulation to be 

per day or per month based on the type of the withdrawal and location. 

 

Line 1(e) through 1(g): Exceeding a Withdrawal Limit: When assessing a civil charge 

or civil penalty for these line items, chose the line item that corresponds with the longest 

reporting period only.  In the event that one or more of these line items is violated, staff should 

evaluate the potential for harm to determine whether its potential for harm should be increased.   
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Surface water Withdrawal Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23 

Permittee/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg. No. Date 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity Factors – Surface water Withdrawal  (Severity and Environmental Harm)  

                Violations and Frequency        
$ (x) 

occurrences 
$ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences 

 

a. Unpermitted withdrawal  Y N 13,000 (x) __ 6,500 (x) ___ 3,250 (x) ___  

b. Failure to mitigate Y N 13,000 (x) __ 6,500 (x) ___ 3,250 (x) ___  

c. Failure to implement a Water Conservation 

Management Plan 
Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

d. Failure to submit a permit application Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

e. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Daily) Y N 1,300 (x) ___  700 (x) ___ 100 (x) ___  

f. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Monthly) Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

g. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Annual)  Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

h. Failure to submit, complete  Record or 

reporting);  (Failure to maintain and/or 

submit are separate occurrences) 

Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

i. Failure to report (requested application, 

water audit, new well, etc)  (per event) 
Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

j. Failure to install and/or maintain equipment 

or other operational deficiencies 
Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___    700 (x) ___  

k. Other Violations; Permit, Special 

Exceptions, or Special Conditions NOT 

listed  above (per event) 

Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal  

3. Aggravating Factors (Severity and Compliance History)  

a History of Noncompliance   

 

Order or decree in another media 

program within 36 mo. before initial 

NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
 

b Degree of Culpability(apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal)) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = 

(x) 0.5 
High = (x) 1.0  

 Aggravating Factor Subtotal  

 Gravity-Based Component Subtotal  (1+2)  

4. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5. Ability to Pay (Ability to Pay)    (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation);  a civil penalty not to exceed 

$1,000 for each violation in a designated Surface Water Management Area.   
$               

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
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Appendix A 

Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment form 

(FOIA-exempt until after a proposed sanction resulting from the investigation has been proposed to the 

Director of the agency (i.e., public notice (Water or Waste) or presentation for DEQ execution (Air)) 

 

Facility/RP 

 

 

Per./Reg. No. Enforcement 

Action No. 

NOV Date 

 Data Amount 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty from Worksheet(s)  

1.  Adjustments before Economic Benefit of Noncompliance  

a. Cooperativeness/Quick Settlement  

 

Y N  

b. Promptness of Injunctive Response/Good Faith Effort 

to Comply 

Y N  

c. (Air Programs only) – Statutory Judicial 

Considerations (from Chapter 4) 

Y N  

d. (Water and Land Protection/Remediation 

Programs only) – Size/Type/Sophistication  of the 

Owner/Operator 

Y N  

2.  Adjustments to Worksheet Total   

a. Problems of Proof  Y N  

b. Impacts or Threat of Impacts (or Lack Thereof) to 

Human Health or the Environment  

Y N  

c. Precedential Value of the Case Y N  

d. Probability of Meaningful Recovery of a Civil 

Charge/Civil Penalty  

Y N  

e. Litigation Potential  Y N  

3.  Total Adjustments   

4.  Increase for continuing or uncorrected violations, 

economic benefit from delay 

Y N  

5.  Adjusted Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  

 

Justification: 

 

 

Prepared by:  __________  Date ______ 

 

DE Concurrence:  __________  Date ______ 

(signature, email, or ECM Workflow) 

(needed only if reduction >30% of gravity-based amount) 

 

Approved by:  __________  Date ______ 

 


